Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“You won’t know that you have lived until you have lived this way.” — Beyond Our Wildest Dreams, p. 28

I have heard it said that we are either growing or we are wasting away.  In my disease, I was certainly the latter. Wallowing in self-pity, shame, and remorse can hardly be called living.  The two words that I would use to best describe this new way of living are “abundant vitality.”

Some have congratulated me on how much longer I will live given my new physical health.  I give that glory to God, and acknowledge that I do not know what kind of appointment He has regarding my graduation to Heaven, but this I know: I would rather live a year like this than ten the old way.

 

From Proverbs 6:

Before listing what has been called “the seven deadly sins,” the first half of this chapter warns against three specific sins: surety, sloth, and scoundrel.  Each comes with a warning of prescribed outcomes: entrapment for the bondsman; scarcity for the sluggard, and destruction for the villain.  Each one shares in common a sudden overwhelm that calls for urgent avoidance.  It is on the groundwork of these explanations that the “seven deadlies” are laid.  This prompts me to consider the motive of the writer.  A loving father wants the best for his heir, and so, would give him loving advice to help ensure the best of things to come.  These were never thou-shalt-nots for the sake of joy-robbing, but of life-giving.  There is nothing among any of these that brings life more abundant, but every one shares in common the potential for, and promise of, the darkness that infects spirit and soul.  I can assume that the Wise Solomon wanted nothing but the best for the heir of his kingdom, and surmise that the Heavenly Father wants nothing less for me.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 38:

King Hezekiah became ill and God pronounced his impending death, but delivered him when he humbled himself and earnestly prayed.  There was a miraculous demonstration of astronomical proportion to validate God’s promise.  (Isaiah 38:7-8)    God’s delivery of Hezekiah was an amazingly appropriate reading considering my previous thoughts on death being a God-appointed event, to change at His prerogative, and for His glory.  Hezekiah was given fifteen extra years because he humbled himself.

In response, the king wrote a passage that could have come right out of one of my journals:

 “15 But what can I say?

He has spoken to me, and he himself has done this.
I will walk humbly all my years
because of this anguish of my soul.
16 Lord, by such things men live;
and my spirit finds life in them too.
You restored me to health
and let me live.
17 Surely it was for my benefit
that I suffered such anguish.
In your love you kept me
from the pit of destruction;
you have put all my sins
behind your back.”

Great is the God who, in His loving kindness, allows me to experience enough painful consequence for me to awaken from my self-serving stupor and return to Him.  It is from spiritual relationship with Him that any vitality comes.  I am grateful!

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 60:

“The first requirement is that we be convinced that any life run on self-will can hardly be a success. On that basis we are almost always in collision with something or somebody, even though our motives are good.”

