Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Since I stopped fighting my Higher Power’s will, one day at a time, I’ve not relapsed. My life has become more than ‘manageable.’ It has become more fulfilling than I could have ever imagined.”

It makes logical sense that resisting God is an exercise in futility.  I don’t understand why I ever tried. I know it has something to do with the connection between my “but” and my “I.”  I knew I was loved, “but I” didn’t feel it.  I knew I should get off the couch, “but I” didn’t want to.  I knew the foods I should eat, “but I” wanted cookies.  I knew the good I ought to do “but I” didn’t do it.  Every time I put my “I” on my “but” I failed to do what I knew was good for me.  James 4:17 declares that sin, “Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.”  No wonder so much of my life was a mess!  Even my unanswered prayers resulted in my disappointment, as if while doing my will I should also always get my way, and if God didn’t think so too, well then He was just not on my “friends” list that week.  How ridiculously childish and petty!  I observe, in retrospect, those prayers went unanswered because my motives and attitudes were selfish.  (Reference James 4:3.)

Removing my will is a continual process, but with it extinguished, life has taken on abundance I would not dare to have dreamed for myself.  With my eye on God and His will for me, I have a new vitality, and it comes with a confidence to meet any new challenge, one at a time.  “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:18)

From Proverbs 4:

25 Let your eyes look straight ahead,
fix your gaze directly before you.”

Focus!  Do not be distracted!  Pay attention!  These are the pleas of the king to his son, and of the King of kings to me.  I am reminded of Peter who, even with faith that moved him to step out of a boat onto the surface of the sea, began to sink in his doubt, only when his focus moved off Jesus onto the wind and waves.  I will tune my mind and senses to the Spirit, and do my best to follow accordingly.  I find that pleasing the Lord pleases me.  It is a far more peaceful and enjoyable life than living in a continual tantrum.

Romans 8:5, “Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.”  (Parallel reference: Colossians 3:1-17)

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 34 and 35:

All the stars of the heavens will be dissolved
and the sky rolled up like a scroll;
all the starry host will fall
like withered leaves from the vine,
like shriveled figs from the fig tree.”

There is a time coming that should make all mankind reach for the Hand that will cut the silver cord.  Clearly, not all of Scripture has been satisfied, but this apocalyptic prophecy remains.  The wrath spelled out in Isaiah 34 is hideously graphic, and a little mysterious with its reference to the scavenger animals, but one thing is certain: I want to have personal relationship with the Power that will deliver the final blow before it comes.  I will trust that Power and His providence with whatever He decides is right for me!

18b For it is his mouth that has given the order,
and his Spirit will gather them together.
17 He allots their portions;
his hand distributes them by measure.”

Chapter 35 contrasts the joy of the redeemed against the dark dread of the nations, and reminds the waiting that the time of wrath is not for the oppressed but the oppressor.

say to those with fearful hearts,
‘Be strong, do not fear;
your God will come,
he will come with vengeance;
with divine retribution
he will come to save you.’”

I love verse 8, with its reference to “the Way,” a term later used to describe the discipleship of Christ.  (Reference Acts 9:2; Acts 19:23; Acts 22:4; Acts 24:14; Acts 24:22)  It goes amazingly well with the chapter of Proverbs read today, where there were several similar references to keeping true to the path or way of instruction.

And a highway will be there;
it will be called the Way of Holiness.
The unclean will not journey on it;
it will be for those who walk in that Way;
wicked fools will not go about on it.[a]

Big Daddy Weave celebrates the intervention of the Hand that saves in a song called, “Redeemed.” My mind recalled the words of this song as I focused on these texts.

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, Foreword to Second Edition:

“…it is our great hope that all those who have as yet found no answer may begin to find one in the pages of this book and will presently join us on the high road to a new freedom.”

