Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

 

Yesterday is gone.  It didn’t go quite the way I would have liked, but that very fact secured an opportunity for me to prove that I am committed to accepting God’s will. My son’s hope for military enlistment was deferred for one year.  That is an eternity to an adolescent, so I had an opportunity to speak words of encouragement that, perhaps, strengthened the relationship between us.  Overall, any day I spend doing God’s will, not mine, is a good day.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…Step Seven calls for us to adopt an attitude of humility.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 59

 

The diseased attitude of vanity is so deadly because it elevates our authority and diminishes our value.  When I was living like I believed I was in charge, I was a constant disappointment because the world wasn’t perfect.  Since those around me weren’t acting according to my will, they were all disappointments too, and the world turned on the axis of my self-centered will, rising in my insecurity and setting in my resentments.  To me, humility is simply the recognition that God has been politely waiting for me to get out of His seat on the throne of my life.  The irony of humility is that, though I thought climbing down to the level of His feet would leave me dejected and ashamed, after He picked me up, called me His “child,” and put me on His lap, the view of the universe became even better than when I tried to fill that big empty chair all by myself.  Papa never wanted me to hate myself or others, but I couldn’t have accepted that I was worth loving if I remained in charge.  My opinion of myself was far too low, and my self-appointed authority was far too high.

 

When I am looking off to what I want, and I cannot see God, there is only one thing between me and God – my own head.  There is only one solution – to turn around.  Turning from what I want and accepting, instead, relationship with God, I find I am lifted up, not squashed down; I am given more of what I need though I feared I would receive less.  Repentance, making a “you-turn” in the course of one’s life, is an amazingly miraculous paradox!

 

From Proverbs 3:

Wise Solomon instructs his son about the True Father:

11 My son, do not despise the Lord’s discipline
and do not resent his rebuke,
12 because the Lord disciplines those he loves,
as a father[b] the son he delights in.”

 

An appropriate attitude of humility provides a grateful acceptance of God’s correction as a blessing, not a curse.  The more I seek God’s will, the less I fret about not having mine, and the more mine actually becomes like His.  He does not ask me to do His will just to deprive me of mine, but because, in His omniscience, He knows a better way than the hazardous one I might have chosen.  His way always works best!  And He does have things He wants me to learn, sometimes by experience, especially when my will still stands in the way.

 

34 He mocks proud mockers
but gives grace to the humble.”

 

Relationship is the prescription of the Father for His hurting children.  It is in Him that I find myself enough.  It is in my connection to Him that I am not rejected by correction, but perfected by it.

 

Jason Gray sings of this in his song, “Remind Me Who I Am.”

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 33:

This is really amazing!  The topic of humility and the relationship that comes from submission to God leads right into the prophecy of Isaiah in this chapter.

 

O Lord, be gracious to us;
we long for you.
Be our strength every morning,
our salvation in time of distress.”

 

The Lord is exalted, for he dwells on high;
he will fill Zion with justice and righteousness.
He will be the sure foundation for your times,
a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge;
the fear of the Lord is the key to this treasure.[a]

 

He just fits His throne so much better than we ever could!  Even though the woe of the world is pronounced in terms of a consuming fire, the salvation of God is revealed in those who have established relationship with Him.  As I mentioned, the view from His lap is better than from any position to which we might have elevated ourselves.

 

17 Your eyes will see the king in his beauty
and view a land that stretches afar.”

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 1314:

“Belief in the power of God, plus enough willingness, honesty and humility to establish and maintain the new order of things, were the essential requirements.”

