Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

Today, I celebrate the birth of my precious bride.  I am grateful to God for a companion so special as she, and a relationship as rewarding as ours.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“By the grace of my God and my courage not to leave the rooms, something miraculous happened over time. I heard the message of those long-time abstaining members.   …This eventually led me to the one person who was willing and strong enough to overcome every obstacle I put up to resist recovery.”

“Keep coming back” is a message I have heard at every meeting I have attended, and many times in between.  It is a message I am glad I heard early on, and have often had to remind myself when my “feel like it” starts to cry out, “Why bother?”  I have been on both sides of the answer to that self-centered question.  Why I bothered before is because I need to reprogram myself to “act on life rather than react to it.”  I need to record some mental tapes that say others have and I can.  I need to learn the song of the successful so I can add my verse to it.

I bother now because of the hurting who cling to the hope that one day the miracle will happen for them if they just keep coming back and keep talking and listening to those who have found what they want.  I bother because my fellows are worth bothering about, and because the hope I can share may be someone’s only hope.  The VOR contributor found the one person who could help them.  What if I am someone’s “one person” and I opt out?  God didn’t save me from my obsession for aesthetics sake.  My purpose is to serve others, to comfort them with the comfort I, myself have received. God has poured onto me a blessing, and I will not hoard it!  In my weakness He made me strong, and in that strength, by God, I will pull someone else up!

I know I’m not perfect, or cured, or infallible; that my disease is waiting for me to get comfortable, and forget it’s there.  I have to keep hearing hope in order to live in it, and I have to live in it in order to share it.

From Proverbs 25:

It is the glory of God to conceal a matter;
to search out a matter is the glory of kings.”

This verse always seemed to me to be a “finders-keepers” sort of taunt of Scripture, but it really is a blessing to always be given something new to pursue, a fresh mystery to uncover, a purpose in reaching deeper.  Taking marriage as a physical model of our spiritual relationship with God, I consider what it might be like if I knew absolutely everything there was to know about my wife.  Wouldn’t I be bored?  What would be the incentive to communicate?  Similarly if all the mysteries of the universe were revealed, where would the pursuit of knowledge be?  Discovery is a key element in any relationship, and God reveals Himself to Man in various ways in His timing.  His wonders never end, and that is one of the things that makes knowing Him wonderful.

“Kings”?  If they ever truly were, the resources to discover are no longer only in the hands of those who command large numbers and execute the wealth of the masses.  Every man, woman, or child is a pioneer, beginning wherever he is, collecting knowledge along the way, gaining understanding with each experience, finding answers with every diligently asked question.  Certainly the glory of kings is not in their regal estate, but in their likeness to the least, as all discover, regardless of where they began, that the real Truth is revealed by God, and is Himself God.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 15 through 21:

Moab, Damascus, Cush, Egypt, and Babylon, each are given its own woe, a shaking of their olive trees and threshing of their wheat.  It seems that, in order for humankind to turn to God, something drastic is required.  God does not disappoint or leave us in our idolatrous selfishness.  He is willing and able to rattle our cages and beat on our boxes to get the attention that will ultimately save us.  None of the notorious cities was without a chance, and neither will any man, woman or nation be without excuse.

17:7 In that day men will look to their Maker
and turn their eyes to the Holy One of Israel.”

18:3 All you people of the world,
you who live on the earth,
when a banner is raised on the mountains,
you will see it,
and when a trumpet sounds,
you will hear it.”

19:20 It will be a sign and witness to the Lord Almighty in the land of Egypt. When they cry out to the Lord because of their oppressors, he will send them a savior and defender, and he will rescue them.   … 22 The Lord will strike Egypt with a plague; he will strike them and heal them. They will turn to the Lord, and he will respond to their pleas and heal them.”

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 46:

“We found that God does not make too hard terms with those who seek Him. To us, the Realm of Spirit is broad, roomy, all inclusive; never exclusive or forbidding to those who earnestly seek. It is open, we believe, to all men.”

