Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

I’ve got a busy day planned.  God willing, I will make it to one of my two Saturday meetings before rushing off to work.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We express our desire to become more effective in serving and helping others as our shortcomings are transformed into assets.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 63

 

There was a shift in value and purpose assessment when I came into program that changed my life.  Rather than devaluing myself based on my actions and inactions, I learned to accept God’s value of me, which had nothing to do with my behavior.  When that happened, my life, which had been mired in gloomy despair over the former self-abasing misjudgment, now fueled with my willingness and action, began to grow to fill the purpose God gave me.  As defects began to turn over and take the shape of their asset counterparts, that purpose expanded and I have continued to fill it, finding myself blessed with a joy of usefulness and worth that once seemed impossible.  God reversed my former ways of self-deprecation and even managed to boost my mood once I dethroned it in preference for Him.

 

From Proverbs 23:

19 Listen, my son, and be wise,
and keep your heart on the right path.
20 Do not join those who drink too much wine
or gorge themselves on meat,
21 for drunkards and gluttons become poor,
and drowsiness clothes them in rags.”

 

“Listen,” “be,” and “keep” are the action words that go well with God’s design for transformation.  No longer will I give ear to the enemy who seeks to destroy and devalue me.  I will hear the One who calls me “son” and mold my life to His way.  There is a “do not” statement that keeps the handrail on this path, and, for people like me who need remedial reasoning, verse 21 answers the “why?” question.  In that part I found the description of my “before” picture.  The spiritual poverty and emotional raggedness could only have been matched by my physical drowsiness when I was living in that state.  I am grateful to God for my liberation from that morbid pit and celebrate the vibrant newness with which He is clothing me every day!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 11 and 12:

In this chapter, Isaiah prophesied the coming of the Messiah would be from the line of Jesse, the father of David.  Of all the prophesy and mystery, my favorite part of the chapter is the drilled out description of the Holy Spirit, Who would rest on this fruit-bearing branch of Jesse:

 

The Spirit of the Lord will rest on him—
the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding,
the Spirit of counsel and of power,
the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the Lord”

 

It is this same Spirit that Christ said could not come to us until He returned to Heaven, as if the two were inseparable as long as He remained on earth in physical form.  “But I tell you the truth: It is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Counselor will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you.” (John 16:7)

 

Thank You, Heavenly Father, for the fact that the Counselor You send me is a Spirit of wisdom, understanding, counsel, power, and most of all, reverent relationship with and knowledge of You!

 

Isaiah 12 is a prophecy of the praise song of the delivered.  It begins with words that feel as though they were written to express my gratitude this very day, for my salvation, my sanctification, and my regeneration:

 

1In that day you will say:

‘I will praise you, O Lord.
Although you were angry with me,
your anger has turned away
and you have comforted me.
Surely God is my salvation;
I will trust and not be afraid.
The Lord, the Lord, is my strength and my song;
he has become my salvation.’”

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 86:

“Were we thinking of ourselves most of the time? Or were we thinking of what we could do for others, of what we could pack into the stream of life? But we must be careful not to drift into worry, remorse or morbid reflection, for that would diminish our usefulness to others.”

