Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

When the sleep-deprived meditate, an unanticipated nap can result. I never quite got caught up. So here is what I did accomplish in my quiet time.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“With OA, we commence a new life. This goes beyond the food and carries into all aspects of our lives, permeating our very beings.”

Assessing and laying down each day as it happens, with all its successes and failures, and grasping the next day as it comes gives me the freedom from yesterday and tomorrow to live the best today I can, better than I ever thought possible. We never graduate from the program, but through working the program, we gradually advance our lives from overwhelming to overcoming, from darkness to light, from misery to might.

From Proverbs 22:

17 Pay attention and listen to the sayings of the wise;
apply your heart to what I teach,
18 for it is pleasing when you keep them in your heart
and have all of them ready on your lips.
19 So that your trust may be in the Lord”

Paying attention, listening, applying the heart, keeping wise sayings, having them ready – these are all the actions of the diligent pursuit of wisdom. The promise of such a pursuit is that my trust may be in the Lord. Nothing exceeds this goal, for in trusting Him an eternity of His companionship and providence is already begun.

God Who made the ears and eyes of man, open mine to find Your wisdom. By Your Spirit, call up from my heart those things which You are faithful to teach me as You orchestrate my opportunities to prove them true. Help me share Your precious Truth with all who might benefit from it.

