Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“This miracle of sanity is an everyday reality for thousands of recovering compulsive overeaters.… it is possible for us to continue eating moderate, nutritious meals, one day at a time, day after day, month after month, year after year.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 23

 

There have been times when I wondered if I could make it a whole day or hour, but with the ability God has given me, today is day 765.   I am an example of the miracle!  Recognizing this, I am motivated to string on one more meal at a time and do whatever it takes to maintain conscious contact with God.  He has brought me from fighting against calling my own condition “insane” to acknowledging today’s sanity as a miracle, and He will not quit working on me.  “He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 1:6)

 

From Proverbs 15:

There are so many practical application lessons in this chapter!  I want to carry the whole thing with me.  One of the primary lessons I read in it is that attitude makes a world of difference.  There are three verses in a row that make that point.

15 All the days of the oppressed are wretched,
but the cheerful heart has a continual feast.

16 Better a little with the fear of the Lord
than great wealth with turmoil.

17 Better a meal of vegetables where there is love
than a fattened calf with hatred.”

 

Today, I choose to be cheerful, to live in sacred awe of the Lord, and to love.  Empower me to do so, dear Lord, so that Your children may be blessed in my living near them.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 3:

Isaiah prophesied about the day when the Great Judge makes His ruling.  In verses 10 and 11, he assuages the fears of the righteous but enflames those of the wicked.

10 Tell the righteous it will be well with them,
for they will enjoy the fruit of their deeds.
11 Woe to the wicked! Disaster is upon them!
They will be paid back for what their hands have done.”

 

Ironically, God’s first pronouncement is against His own people.  This reminds me of the songs I shared last night, that cry out to the faulty reflectors who misguide the lost and repel the seeker from finding God’s way.  It is a miracle anyone finds the Truth, when so many of His followers misrepresent His grace.

14 The Lord enters into judgment
against the elders and leaders of his people:
‘It is you who have ruined my vineyard;
the plunder from the poor is in your houses.
15 What do you mean by crushing my people
and grinding the faces of the poor?’
declares the Lord, the Lord Almighty.”

 

God, through Isaiah, even hinted at the attitudes and reflections of the defiant, saying in verse 9, “The look on their faces testifies against them.”  I wonder how my diseased countenance has betrayed my purpose when I was going around bent on getting my way, and inflicting it on others.

 

I repeat my affirmation from last night, “Neither do I condemn you.”

 

Forgive me, Lord, for repelling the seeker who, looking for You, only saw me and, disgusted, gave up hope.  May the fire of Your Spirit consume hypocrisy and emblazon the containers of Your faithful, that grace may be poured out abundantly, and those who seek You find Your Salvation.  In the Name of Jesus and for the glory of Heaven, I pray.  Amen!

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 17:

“The feeling of having shared in a common peril is one element in the powerful cement which binds us. But that in itself would never have held us together as we are now joined. The tremendous fact for every one of us is that we have discovered a common solution. We have a way out on which we can absolutely agree, and upon which we can join in brotherly and harmonious action.”

