Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Commitment means I plan ahead for the right foods at the right times and do the spiritual work that allows me to access my Higher Power.”

How is it possible to refrain from eating the wrong things without making plans and provision for eating the proper things?  Vending machines, convenience stores and fast food restaurants cater to my diseaseI have to make provision for my success, and that means preparation so I don’t have to rely on the “conveniences” that war against my abstinence.  I have to be committed enough to a plan of eating to develop it, shop for the groceries, prepare the meals, separate and store them as necessary, and be willing to keep handy the alternative that might send a less prepared abstainer into the harm’s way of a quickie-mart.

My spiritual attitude is no different.  What I feel like can no more dictate how I align myself with my Higher Power than it determines what I eat or when I go to the gym.  The prayer and practice may vary somewhat, just as the contents of my meals may change with the seasons or the demands of the day, but one thing remains consistent: that I affirm my inadequacy outside of God and assume my position in and under Him so I can celebrate the fullness of my adequacy and value when clothed, filled and fueled with His power, provision and purpose.  I offer myself to Him an empty vessel and He fills me to overflowing the rest of the day, for the purpose of spilling His Life onto others.  “The life I live in the body, I live by faith…” (Galatians 2:20)

 

From Proverbs 7:

21 With persuasive words she led him astray;
she seduced him with her smooth talk.”

Temptation is not content with status quo, but it hopes we are.  The prostitute that personifies temptation in this chapter is described as crafty, seductive, loud, defiant, restless, prepared, lurking, brazen, and actively seeking you and me and her opportunity to lead us wayward with her kiss of sensuality.  America has no monopoly on self-serving culture, but it could certainly be the capital of it.  Everywhere we turn, commercial marketing wields its battle axe in our direction and, were it not for our triumphant Higher Power, we would be powerless to parry its blows.  Deserve and desire coil around our feet like a pair of serpents, bent on our destruction.  The only way to avoid their grip and sting is to maintain awareness, discretion, commitment to avoid them when we can, and a total reliance on God’s power to overcome them at all times.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 141, 142, and 143:

I promise I don’t plan these things.  The congruence of my Bible readings is far too coincidental to be attributed to anything but the divine intervention of the Spirit who guides me.  Check out this excerpt from Psalm 141:

Set a guard over my mouth, O Lord;
keep watch over the door of my lips.
Let not my heart be drawn to what is evil,
to take part in wicked deeds
with men who are evildoers;
let me not eat of their delicacies.”

But my eyes are fixed on you, O Sovereign Lord;
in you I take refuge —do not give me over to death.
Keep me from the snares they have laid for me,
from the traps set by evildoers.”

It just keeps on getting better here in Psalm 142!

Listen to my cry,
for I am in desperate need;
rescue me from those who pursue me,
for they are too strong for me.
Set me free from my prison,
that I may praise your name.

Then the righteous will gather about me
because of your goodness to me.”

I am in awe at how Psalm 143, in its entirety, presents the knock-out punch of God’s deliverance according to the topic of today’s meditation, but will only post one verse in summary, trusting the reader to find the will to uncover the rest.

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
for I have put my trust in you.
Show me the way I should go,
for to you I lift up my soul.”

Architect of the Universe and Lover of my Soul, thank You for finding me faulty, loving me regardless, and restoring me to Your productive purposes.  Preserve me though the destroyer seeks to consume me.  Keep me quickened in my steps along Your chosen path, that I might not step into trouble, and it might not find its way to me.

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 70:

“Suppose we fall short of the chosen ideal and stumble? Does this mean we are going to get drunk? Some people tell us so. But this is only a half-truth. It depends on us and on our motives. If we are sorry for what we have done, and have the honest desire to let God take us to better things, we believe we will be forgiven and will have learned our lesson. If we are not sorry, and our conduct continues to harm others, we are quite sure to drink. We are not theorizing. These are facts out of our experience.”

