Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I concentrate on what I can do, not on what I cannot do. With God’s help, I can live the message of the OA program, one day at a time.”

 

What an about-face living well can be when we become willing to do turn from the way we’ve always gone!  Accepting things I cannot change with the application of God’s grace that brings serenity has been key to shutting out disappointment and zeroing in on the next positive action.  A compulsive overeater’s preoccupation with food is much easier silenced with the occupation of a constructive sort.  I don’t grieve the loss of indulgent foods nearly as much while I am enjoying the benefits of proper fueling.  Likewise, I don’t miss the power-illusions with which my rage used to deceive me while I am enjoying the fruits of broader, deeper relationships with those around me.

 

I still live at the same global position, but now this change of attitude has me intently directed at capitalizing the next opportunity rather than fretting over the lost ones.  It’s odd to consider that, when I tried to occupy too much of the universal timeline, I ended up spreading out over space too.  Living one moment at a time has pinpointed my focus, my existence, and my vertical alignment to the clear, crisp now, the dot on the space-time continuum where the life of finite man intersects with infinite God.

 

 

From Proverbs 5:

Proverbs 5, 6 and 7 speak a lot about adultery, the unhealthy, ultimately fatal indulgence of the sexual urge.  Each month, as I come to this part, I am reminded of the kind of selfish, sensual desires that live in relationship to the sexual ones.  Adultery represents, to me, the idol queen of foolish self-indulgence, and its consummation the final offering of a soul and spirit to the flames that burn in one’s body.  The altar of the bed is not the first or only stop on the way to spiritual self-destruction.  It appears to begin with smaller idol sacrifices that begin as compromise or “harmless” play.

 

The thing I notice about Proverbs 5 is that, although in the NIV the chapter is headed, “Warning Against Adultery,” there is more contained in the chapter than just a deprivation of what sensual folly might view as fun; there is a paving of the way for blessing.  In this wise instruction, God doesn’t leave us with only a “don’t,” He gives us a far better “do.”

 

15 Drink water from your own cistern,
running water from your own well.”

18 May your fountain be blessed,
and may you rejoice in the wife of your youth.”

 

Wisdom seems to say, “I give you plenty of a good thing.  Enjoy it in the way it was intended.  Be satisfied!”  This reminds me of a verse I have posted at my breakfast area that reads, “Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure.  The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance.”  (Psalm 16:5-6)   God’s provision does not leave me deprived.  It is enough in every circumstance: in my strength, in my food, in my time, in my life, and in my love.  Wherever I go, God will be there, and His provision will be enough.  This is the joyful truth of trusting in an infinite God, and it spells the liberation of my emotions!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 135, 136, and 137:

Speaking of the futility and fatality of idol-service, Psalm 135 contains a pronouncement of what becomes of the servant of such idols as those which the Spirit has just had me consider.  The servant is rendered to the silent, dead likeness of his master.

 

15 The idols of the nations are silver and gold,
made by the hands of men.
16 They have mouths, but cannot speak,
eyes, but they cannot see;
17 they have ears, but cannot hear,
nor is there breath in their mouths.
18 Those who make them will be like them,
and so will all who trust in them.”

 

Psalm 136 contains a historical review of praise, mixed with the repeated phrase I love to recall has leveled armies.  It also points out God’s superlative greatness over any and all substitutes.  My favorite highlight is in the celebration of His deliverance, because it speaks to me in my recovery right now.

 

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good.
His love endures forever.
23 to the One who remembered us in our low estate
His love endures forever.
24 and freed us from our enemies,
His love endures forever.
25 and who gives food to every creature.
His love endures forever.

26 Give thanks to the God of heaven.
His love endures forever.

 

Isn’t that what I most craved?  More than delicacies, more than salty crunchies or sweet decadence, love that lasted was what I needed with all my stomach, all my scattered brain, and all my dark, twisted fears!  I am thankful for God, who has cleared away the distractions between us, and opened up room enough for us to grow closer in relationship.  It is God who is good, for His love for me endures forever!

 

In Psalm 137, the psalmist, apparently one of the exiled Israelite captives, uttered a curse on those who sacked Jerusalem, and reflected on his own inability to justify his spiritual alignment when his physical being was so impaired.

 

How can we sing the songs of the Lord
while in a foreign land?”

 

This reminds me that I should be doing what I can to remain in the “land” God has provided, both literally and figuratively, but I also have a duty to fulfill as a minister of the Spirit of God, to give God a voice regardless of my physical condition, position, attitude, or alignment.  Though I find myself in exile, I will yet remember and glorify the greatness of the Lord!

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 19:

“If we keep on the way we are going there is little doubt that much good will result, but the surface of the problem would hardly be scratched. Those of us who live in large cities are overcome by the reflection that close by hundreds are dropping into oblivion every day. Many could recover if they had the opportunity we have enjoyed. How then shall we present that which has been so freely given us?”

