Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

Confession time!  I fell fast asleep during my devotion time this morning, and might not have awakened in time for work had it not been for my daughter rousing me for our date at the gym.  Now I am fitting my devotional study in break-times at work.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We are powerless over each of our defects of character, just as we are powerless over the food. It will be up to a power greater than ourselves to remove them from us; we can’t do it alone.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 55

I can’t – God can – I will let Him!  This is the cadence of our recovery and the dirge of our disease.  I will keep on marching to this tune and celebrate the death of self-service on and on.  I can almost hear the New Orleans brass band kicking that celebratory funeral jazz!

 

From Proverbs 3:

25 Let your eyes look straight ahead,

fix your gaze directly before you.”

Yesterday I mentioned one of my heroes, Peter, and his stroll across the water to Jesus.  His downfall came when he saw the wind. (Matthew 14:30)  Did you catch that?  How does a person see wind?  That’s seeing with your fears and not with your eyes!  I wonder how much elevation I lose seeing wind and other invisible threats around me.  I would do better to follow the advice of this verse and just keep living life one day at a time, one step at a time.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 132, 133, and 134:

Psalm 132:1, “Lord, remember David and all his self-denial.”

This whole chapter recounts the sacrifice David made of himself and the covenant God made with him in His pleasure.  As I continue to make a sacrifice of self each day at a time, I am encouraged to know that God sees, approves, and remembers.  Elsewhere I am told that sacrifices of bulls and lambs do not please Him, but a life rightly lived, in careful consideration of others, is an honorable act of worship.

Psalm 133 has three verses, and I’m going to quote half of it here.  Unity seems to elude most fellowships, even those congregations of “God’s people” described here.  But unity is certainly worth the work and loving perseverance it takes to build it.

1 How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity!   3b …For there the LORD bestows his blessing even life forevermore.”

Psalm 134 is a call to worship, specially addressed to the night-worker.  Okay, technically, it is addressed to the night minister “of the house of the LORD,” but I figure the whole world is His house as far as I’m concerned, and so the night ministry includes me.

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 75:

“We can look the world in the eye.  We can be alone at perfect peace and ease.  Our fears fall from us. We begin to feel the nearness of our Creator.”

