Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.   I didn’t get to finish what I normally do, but my way is never the best way!

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

 

“I know I cannot walk through a brick wall, and I’ve totally accepted this fact, so I don’t try. I don’t even resent the fact that I can’t do it. When I accept Step One as completely as this, I am easily abstinent. I am free.”

 

This is why it is so important that Step Two follow closely on the heels of Step One.  Powerlessness without hope can lead to despair, and we compulsive eaters have already experienced enough despair!  The hope of restoration that comes from believing, even if we have to lean on the belief of others at first is what opens the doors of acceptance that lead from discovery to recovery.

 

 

From Proverbs 28:

26 He who trusts in himself is a fool,
but he who walks in wisdom is kept safe.”

 

This seems in keeping with the reflection on the VOR entry.  The wisdom of trusting in a power greater than the idol of self is proven even in the first moments of surrender.  For the compulsive overeater or addict to any other behavior or substance, since what we feel like is harmful, abstinence, or total sacrifice of the harmful behavior or substance is the only walk balanced on any semblance of safety.  The foolish threat to safety comes when Self begins to call, “I want, I need, I deserve!”

