Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Believe that you can be abstinent. You will be. Believe that you can have sanity, peace of mind, and freedom to live the life you want. You will have them. Believe that you will recover. You will.” — For Today, p. 354

 

The contributor continued, “Faith requires that I keep doing what works, no matter what.”  There is the key: action in addition to belief is required, since “faith without works is dead.”  The “act as if” concept is based on this, and even suggests that the belief can be counterfeit if necessary.  If my sponsor makes a suggestion that feels contrary to me, and I disbelieve but follow his advice anyway, acting as if I believed, I am faking the belief but doing the works in faith.  A crosser of a shaky bridge doesn’t know for sure it will hold, but steps out in faith across it.  When I pour in the power of God through prayer, even if only in reluctant submission, the Activator of our faith marches in and proves Himself faithful.  That’s when miracles occur.  Belief, a star, and a cricket will make a nice Disney movie, but it’s not dreams that come true!  It is abundant life that comes true when we submit to our Creator’s will and act out our beliefs as they grow and make us able to believe more, then to trust, and eventually to wholly rely in perfected faith.

 

The “no matter what” part here cannot be overemphasized.  I know that emotions war against faith.  My flesh wants to do the easy thing while acting according to my beliefs may be more difficult, require preparation and work, and not be as sensually gratifying in the moment.  “The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.” (Matthew 26:41)  When I shop for groceries, if I go down the aisle and grab whatever I “feel like” then I am letting the juvenile flesh of my being do the shopping.  But if I step out in faith, trusting God to make me what He alone can make me, making a plan of my eating, preparing an ingredients-based shopping list, and buying only what I believe the Maker would include in my menu, then I make provision for my success and step out of the way for His miracles to occur.  When the evil crunchy-sweeties vie for our attention with their colorful packaging and marketers offering aromatic samples at the end-cap, “we recoil from it as from a hot flame” and continue acting as if our abstinence was already blooming into a healthy spirit, mind and body.  Soon we find it is!

 

Prayer coupled with “no matter what” action is what conquers our bondage to the bed, the couch, the television, all those magnets that pull us backward from our progress.  If I am honest, I will admit that rarely have I felt like doing the healthy thing.  “Feel like,” “deserve,” and “want to” have to die on the altar of self-sacrifice, daily, hourly, continually.  When they do, those magnets lose their power, and we are freed to walk in God’s power and provision.  “Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance…” (Hebrews 12:1)

 

From Proverbs 18:

One who is slack in his work
is brother to one who destroys.”

 

Wow!  When God wants to emphasize diligence, He really makes His point!  In addition to the Spirit’s orchestration of this exclamatory amplification of the faith-works phenomenon, I noticed the familiar terms used to describe the relationship between the self-indulgent and the destroyer.  The verse indicts me as having been his brother.  Kindred to the devil?  The seeker of my demise would surely be out of place in a family photograph!  Wouldn’t he?  What is needed is a divorce from that brother, and an adoption of Wisdom as my sister and Understanding as my kinsman, as I am instructed in Proverbs 7:4.  Acceptance of my Heavenly Father makes such subordinate relationships much easier to develop.  Thankfully, He has made a Way to Him – His Son, Jesus, Immanuel.  1 John 2:23 says we can’t have One without the Other.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 93 through 95:

Psalm 93:1, “…The Lord is robed in majesty and is armed with strength.”  When we cannot, He still can!

Psalm 94:17-19 exclaims my mortal powerlessness, God’s loving deliverance, and my joyful response.

17 Unless the Lord had given me help,
I would soon have dwelt in the silence of death.
18 When I said, ‘My foot is slipping,’
your love, O Lord, supported me.
19 When anxiety was great within me,
your consolation brought joy to my soul.”

 

Psalm 95:6-7, “Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker; for he is our God and we are the people of his pasture, the flock under his care.”  This just seems proper!  What could be more natural than the creation gathering to the Creator?  Apparently “natural” has nothing to do with it.  Natural is apparently the physical obstacle to supernatural living – that is, overcoming the natural tendencies to live abundantly as intended and empowered by God.

 

In Psalm 95:10, we find a warning against living astray from God’s way.  The example is the nation of Israel in their forty-year wandering in the wilderness after being delivered from the bondage of Egypt.  This is motivation for me not to rest in deliverance only.  I am delivered for a purpose, and until I am ready to accept that and take action toward it, I will likewise find myself wandering in the wilderness, moaning, “how long, oh Lord?” while He wonders the same thing.

 

 

From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions , page 28:

“The roadblocks of indifference, fancied self-sufficiency, prejudice, and defiance often prove more solid and formidable for these people than any erected by the unconvinced agnostic or even the militant atheist.”

