Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“So much can be accomplished one moment, one hour, one day at a time. … Taking this attitude gives me the freedom to tackle big or little problems, big or little jobs, big or little pleasures without getting all tangled up in ‘what-ifs’ or ‘maybes’ or ‘might-have-beens.’”

 

‘One moment at a time’ is the theme of my survival.  It is my variation on the ‘one day at a time’ slogan. No matter what is happening, all of life is easier to endure one moment at a time.  ‘One day at a time’ is a reminder that ‘tomorrow’ is for little red-haired orphans named Annie, and that all we really have is right now, today, this moment.  When I keep my head above my feet in the singular moment of grace, between and without leaning into any of the resentments of the past or anxieties of the future, I find that I can live life more fully and freely, better connected with God in His eternity, and empowered to handle whatever may come.

 

From Proverbs 16:

The primary topics of this chapter are speech, humility, and true motives.  There are a couple stray verses that pepper the chapter, like this one:

 

32 Better a patient man than a warrior,
a man who controls his temper than one who takes a city.”

As I think it over, perhaps patience and temper control aren’t really astray from the theme.  In fact, they are really sort of the visual monitor of spiritual condition.  Tuned with proper motives, and set to a fixed posture of humility, with appropriate speech delivering messages consistent with the Guiding Spirit, the patient, controlled person becomes a receiver and transmitter of God’s will.

 

Master of the Universe, amplify Your will, wisdom, and way in my modest life.  Make my life an accurate display of the love and faithfulness You generously broadcast in power on Your children.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 89 and 90:

The Holy Spirit brings evidences of God’s involvement in my life, and here in Psalm 89 is one such proof that He is already involved in answering the prayer above.  I love His little coincidences of confirmation!

 

I will sing of the Lord’s great love forever;
with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations.
I will declare that your love stands firm forever,
that you established your faithfulness in heaven itself.”

 

Later in the chapter, Ethan the Ezrahite describes, by inspiration of the Holy Spirit, the moon as faithful witness to the enduring sun, a beautiful allegory for the reflector I hope for my life to be of the image of God.

 

In Psalm 90, Moses wrote of the brevity of life, clearly feeling the oppression of its futility, but making a good case for ‘one moment at a time’ living.

 

10 The length of our days is seventy years —
or eighty, if we have the strength;
yet their span is but trouble and sorrow,
for they quickly pass, and we fly away.”

12 Teach us to number our days aright,
that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”

 

The popular Christian Contemporary song called Blink, by Revive, references this concept of numbering our days and making the most of each moment.  As I read this, the lyrics sang in my head.

 

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 50-51:

“Once confused and baffled by the seeming futility of existence, they show the underlying reasons why they were making heavy going of life. Leaving aside the drink question, they tell why living was so unsatisfactory. They show how the change came over them. When many hundreds of people are able to say that the consciousness of the Presence of God is today the most important fact of their lives, they present a powerful reason why one should have faith.”

