Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

Happy MOTHER’S DAY!  Traveling the last couple days was a lot of fun.  I was proud of my graduating daughter, and happily content to share her with the rest of her family.  We got some of her furniture moved back, and she will join us at home tomorrow.  I recognize her moving home is much more exciting for me than for her.  I trust God to breathe into me the welcoming, helping love that I need to demonstrate to my kids for the brief time they are back home.  I cannot make up for the harms once done, but I can consecrate myself to lovingly serving and not harming them now.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Tradition Five reminds us that our recovery doesn’t come from simply discussing our problems with each other. It is in the OA message—in our Steps and Traditions—that we find solutions to our problems.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 146

The contributor attests to experiencing what I mentioned Wednesday: that rehearsal of problems tends to spin one into their own self-pity.  My help does not come from sharing my problems, but in sharing my solutions, in helping others with the help I, myself, have received.  When we find people in similar pain to ours, we give purpose to our pain, and convert it to passion to save them.  Without that purpose, many find themselves stuck in the old feelings of uselessness and despair.  Service is slimming, but it is also strengthening; it is saving.  I am not content to merely carry the message of recovery; I must be the message!

From Proverbs 13:

One of the great things about the Book of Proverbs is that, for the most part, it is small nuggets of wisdom that can be taken, independent of context, and used throughout life.  One thing I love about the Word of God is that it seems to live and breathe, and meet me right wherever I am, and looking at its prismatic Truth from different angles gives it deeper, more lustrous, sparkling meaning.  This morning, I discovered a customized message in a string of these precious gems God wove into the familiar verses of this chapter.  I was excited to see a link between verses 4 and 12 that I had never seen before, but when the Spirit laced them together with verses 19 and 25, I was amazed, like I was watching a jeweler craft a prize necklace!

The sluggard craves and gets nothing,
but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied.”

12 Hope deferred makes the heart sick,
but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.”

19 A longing fulfilled is sweet to the soul,
but fools detest turning from evil.

25 The righteous eat to their hearts’ content,
but the stomach of the wicked goes hungry.”

I hope the dazzling brilliance of the Truth in that cluster isn’t lost in my meager representation.  In it I see the circle of what was wrong with my old programming and the radiance of what is now new.  When I was driven by the desire to get what I want, I found that I never got enough; but turning my energy to what God wants, I find that I have all I ever needed and more.  It is a breathtaking spectacle of hope and deliverance, and I am honored to accept it from my Maker and wear it prominently.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 84 and 85:

This was a fun Psalm to read until I tried to pick out a selection to highlight.  I love its adoration and promise.  Verse 10 is quoted in a currently popular praise song.

…my heart and my flesh cry out
for the living God.”

Blessed are those whose strength is in you…”

10 Better is one day in your courts
than a thousand elsewhere…”

11 For the Lord God is a sun and shield;
the Lord bestows favor and honor;
no good thing does he withhold
from those whose walk is blameless.

12 O Lord Almighty,
blessed is the man who trusts in you.”

Verse 11 echoes a message I heard in a study I have been doing on “surrender” that indicates that a submitted life opens the doors of God’s abundant blessing.  “No good thing does He withhold,” indeed.  He gave me a necklace I don’t deserve just this morning!

Revival and restoration in the providence of God is the theme of Psalm 85.

I will listen to what God the Lord will say;
he promises peace to his people, his saints—
but let them not return to folly.”

10 Love and faithfulness meet together;
righteousness and peace kiss each other.”

12 The Lord will indeed give what is good,
and our land will yield its harvest.”

Instruction and obedience, meeting together, jewelry, smooching, and gift-giving!  What is this?  Mother’s Day or something?  I do appreciate the ironic undercurrent of the Spirit’s message for me today.  Although the Proverbs say to call Wisdom my sister, I believe the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Immanuel – “God with us,” the Great Comforter, the One who guides me, picks me up, carries me, warms me with the instruction and the love of God the Father, deserves a “Happy Mother’s Day” greeting herself!

Thank You, Holy Spirit, for lovingly keeping me, for carrying me, guiding me, instructing me, empowering me, encouraging me, for always directing me to the Father’s will.  In the name of Christ, I submit to Your breath in me, and offer whatever I am to the Father who sends You to me.  Triune God, I love You!

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 82:

“Passing all understanding is the patience mothers and wives have had with alcoholics. Had this not been so, many of us would have no homes today, would perhaps be dead.”

