Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

Today, I remotely celebrate my daughter’s completion of her last undergraduate exam.  Tomorrow, God willing, I will travel to celebrate it with her in person, and witness her commencement ceremony Saturday.  I am excited for her, and much better prepared for travel and family togetherness than I would have been earlier in my recovery.  Accompanied by unconditional abstinence and the Spirit that provides, I will be fine no matter what should arise.  I guess that’s what the Big Book means by, “we commence to outgrow fear.”  (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 68)

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Each day that we live well, we are well, and we embody the joy of recovery which attracts others who want what we’ve found in OA.”  — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106

 

My home group will soon assemble to consider, in group conscience, methods and strategy to attract people to enter or return to our meetings.  Ironically, I will not be in attendance because of travel.  If I were, I would surely bring up this excerpt from the OA “Twelve and Twelve.”  Living lives that reflect the joyful embodiment of recovery is the best way to get people to ask where to go to get some of that.  As OA’s own Strong Meeting Checklist suggests, “It is not enough to make the public aware that OA exists and can be a solution to compulsive eating; meetings have to be strong and must function effectively for people to ‘stay for the miracle’ and for OA to continue to grow and be there for those who need it in the future.”

 

I am grateful enough for my recovery to share it with any who inquire about it and, where appropriate, pitch recovery to those who may not know of it or recognize my deliverance.  Living God-empowered, spiritual lives will bear fruit.  My job, as a branch of the Vine, is to abide in the Vine*, to submit to the inflow of the sap of my Vinedresser’s purpose and power, and faithfully dangle, accepting my independent powerlessness as part of my design.

(*Reference: John 15)

 

 

From Proverbs 10:

30 The righteous will never be uprooted,
but the wicked will not remain in the land.”

 

Ah, the gardening references abound – or flourish!  While reading and then repeatedly listening to the Audiobook version of Andrew Murray’s Absolute Surrender, I have been inspired by this thought of what he calls “higher living” by total reliance on the breath and water of God’s Spirit to give sustenance and purpose to my otherwise pointless existence as a broken, empty container.  In this verse, as in others, the idea of “righteousness” is not the derogatory popular interpretation of the word better described as “self-righteousness,” but a state of connectedness and alignment with the only One who is right – God.  “No one is good—except God alone.” (Mark 10:18)  Likewise, the “wicked” are not those who have sinned or else all would be included.  “There is no one righteous; no, not one!” (Romans 3:12 Psalms 14:1-3; 53:1-3; Eccles. 7:20) They are, instead, the disconnected, who live askew from the life of the Root and Vine.  It stands to reason that any dead stick found among the vibrant vine-branches would, by its morbid defiant disconnection, call for its own removal.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 77 and 78:

In Psalm 77, Asaph finds a way to pray in song a healthy progression from acknowledging a very common feeling of emptiness and his perception of God’s absence.  In fact, he gives voice to a thought I have heard expressed by many hurting people:

 

Has God forgotten to be merciful?
Has he in anger withheld his compassion?”

 

Rather than wallowing in that emotion, however, Asaph arrested that thought and steered his cognition to the positive, recalling God’s record of ultimate goodness.

 

11 I will remember the deeds of the Lord;
yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.
12 I will meditate on all your works
and consider all your mighty deeds.”

 

He even found a way to acknowledge that God’s divine purposes are often invisible to man.  I bet in that confession, he found a better ability to accept his current circumstances.  I know I do!

 

19 Your path led through the sea,
your way through the mighty waters,
though your footprints were not seen.”

 

Psalm 78 is a historical summary put to song.  I imagine that after experiencing the benefit of reflecting on the history of God’s greatness, Asaph discovered the importance of sharing it in a memorable way with the next generations.  How better than in song?

 

…We will tell the next generation
the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord,
his power, and the wonders he has done.”

 

One of the choruses of this song hits close to the home of the compulsive overeater, when it describes the cravings of the nation of Israel as they wandered in the wilderness.  It is amazing how, though the characters and setting have changed, the doubt and rebellion remain the same.

 

18 They willfully put God to the test
by demanding the food they craved.
19 They spoke against God, saying,
‘Can God spread a table in the desert?’”

 

God, help me to arrest my self-pity, to imprison doubt and ruthlessly execute selfishness, relying instead on the memory of Your divine provision for me and all who have come before.  Build that recollection into faith that stirs me to action, one moment at a time, for Your benefit, according to Your will.  Amen!

 

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 52:

“When we saw others solve their problems by a simple reliance upon the Spirit of the Universe, we had to stop doubting the power of God.”

