Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.   I’m getting a late start today.  I woke up in time for breakfast and devotions, but fell asleep again during meditations. “The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“‘Live and let live’ will free me from the compulsion to criticize, judge, condemn, and retaliate. Only then can I focus on the useful things in my life.”

 

How can I be absolutely surrendered to God and His will for me when I am still trying to push others around in their respective lives?  Living freely is evidence of surrender, and letting others live freely is evidence of more total surrender.  Control is an illusion, and chasing after it is a fantasy.  It is clambering for that sense of control that causes us conflict with others in our lives.  “He is always trying to change me.”  “What does she want me to be?”  “Don’t tell me how to live my life!”  These questions demonstrate the frustration that comes when man inevitably fails his attempt at being God, either in his life or the life of someone else.

 

Perfect God, I offer my imperfect self to You, to do something wonderful according to Your will.  Make whole what was broken and use what was useless for Your purposes.   I sacrifice my self-will, executing it violently and with emphasis as Christ suffered under Pontius Pilate.  Help me keep my will thoroughly dead throughout the day, exercising it on no one, harming no one and loving all with Your perfect, accepting, self-sacrificing, merciful love.  I declare ultimate preference for You, and subsequent preference for anyone who is not me.  Help me demonstrate that surrender throughout today and the rest of my life.

 

From Proverbs 7:

Bind them on your fingers;
write them on the tablet of your heart.”

 

The text encourages the reader, addressed as “My son,” to etch the words and commands of the wise Father in places where they can be seen as reminder, and deeply within where they can be felt.   I was rearranging some of the sticky-notes of Bible verses on my bathroom vanity this morning, to help me organize a consistently flowing prayer from the puzzle pieces they were.  I have others on 3×5 cards, some on my mobile phone, another on my computer’s screen saver.  These are the proverbial strings on my fingers, and in order to inscribe them on my heart, I make verbal recitations of several of them each day.  It might seem silly to some, but it helps me to focus on them, and follows this guidance in the only way I know how.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 72:

Psalm 72 is a blessing of Solomon from his father David.  It is the closing of Book II of the Psalms.  In it are commission for the new king, prophecy for the King of kings, and an acknowledgement that only the Heavenly Father brings about any blessing at all.  It is credited to Solomon, but closes by identifying it as the last prayers of David son of Jesse.  It is further evidence that David had spiritual insight to see the true King who would come from this lineage.

 

Endow the king with your justice, O God,
the royal son with your righteousness.”

 

He will endure as long as the sun,
as long as the moon, through all generations.”

 

18 Praise be to the Lord God, the God of Israel,
who alone does marvelous deeds.”

 

Omnipotent Creator, endow me with Your wisdom, mercy, and love.  Cover me with the garment of Your righteousness.  You alone are holy.  Thank You for your grace that finds me, delivers me, and provides for me.  May I walk in Your purpose, provision and power all the days of my life, according to Your will.

 

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 336:

“I’ve been sober several years, kept that way by submitting my natural will to the Higher Power and that is all there is to it. That submission wasn’t just a single act, however. It became a daily duty; it had to be that. Daily I am renewed in strength and I have never come to the point where I have wanted to say, ‘Thanks, God, I think I can paddle my own canoe now,’ for which I am thankful.”

