Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Abstinence means freedom from the bondage of compulsive overeating.” — Overeaters Anonymous, Second Edition, p. 3

 

Sometimes I change the words to the rote prayers I use regularly, to reflect my personal involvement in them, and to allow them to take on new meaning or a better foothold in my heart.  The Third Step Prayer is an example.  When I change “relieve me of the bondage of self” to “rescue me from the slavery of self” my soul tastes the pungent bitterness and urgency of the alternate phrasing.  I am moved, and I can feel the rush of my Deliverer coming quickly to save me as I let my life fall into the hands of God.  Abstinence – sacrifice – self-denial – by whatever name I call it, turning my will and life over to the Creator to do as He would have me makes me know whose I am and fills me with peace and joy for which there could be no substitute.

 

From Proverbs 6:

Allow no sleep to your eyes,
no slumber to your eyelids.
Free yourself, like a gazelle from the hand of the hunter,
like a bird from the snare of the fowler.”

 

In this context, the reader is cautioned about financial bondage, but the lesson is applicable for any slavery to self: as soon as bondage is recognized, shrug it off and flee for life’s sake.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 70 and 71:

Psalm 70 is a short prayer of urgent petition for God’s speedy deliverance.

Hasten, O God, to save me;
O Lord, come quickly to help me.”

5b You are my help and my deliverer;
O Lord, do not delay.”

 

The theme of urgent rescue continues in Psalm 71, and it is followed by a commitment to praise.

Rescue me and deliver me in your righteousness;
turn your ear to me and save me.
Be my rock of refuge,
to which I can always go;
give the command to save me,
for you are my rock and my fortress.”

 

12 Be not far from me, O God;
come quickly, O my God, to help me.”

 

14 But as for me, I will always have hope;
I will praise you more and more.
15 My mouth will tell of your righteousness,
of your salvation all day long,
though I know not its measure.”

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “The Doctor’s Opinion” page xxvii:

“We doctors have realized for a long time that some form of moral psychology was of urgent importance to alcoholics, but its application presented difficulties beyond our conception.”

