Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“What do we say when we talk with God? We say whatever we feel like saying.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 93

 

The Creator is my Higher Power, not King James, William Shakespeare, or Daniel Webster.  The God who desires relationship with me does not grade grammar and will not be offended by my spelling or syntax.  There is one thing He seems to want from me, and that is relationship.  Certainly, He is infinitely regal, but He has seen me at my humblest and knows the language of my heart.  Before I even utter a sound, He knows all that I might say.  Anything I have ever learned of Him confirms that he is patient when I am angry, soothing when I am fearful, consoling when I am sad, and joyful at my turning to Him.  Regardless of the frailties of my tongue, His power and love is expressed in Spirit when I find any means of connection with Him.

 

If thou wouldst come but for the formality, I beseech thee to come hither and reap the glorious bounty of His all surpassing greatness.  In other words: y’all get over the highfalutin’ and come on, ‘cause God rocks!

 

Matthew 6:7, “And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words.”

 

 

From Proverbs 2:

12 Wisdom will save you from the ways of wicked men…”

 

As I continue to work the program and seek, through prayer and meditation, God’s will for me and the power to carry that out, I am becoming more and more aware that the wicked man from whose ways I most desperately need salvation is me.  It occurred to me this morning that, even when I am unclear what God’s will for me is, it would be in my best interest to go in the direction of anyone’s will other than mine.  That way, even if the third party’s will is not aligned with perfection, at least I would have capitalized the opportunity to practice self-sacrifice and service.  That is always good spiritual exercise!

 

I am also realizing that we compulsive overeaters and addicts do not have a monopoly on self-destructive self-indulgence.  It seems that the world is filled with people accustomed to getting their own way or acting out in protest when they don’t.  As I look around for the spiritually sick, I am noticing them in more places than just the donut shops and ice cream parlors.  It seems the emotional suffering from self-indulgence is everywhere, just like Isaiah wrote around 700 B.C., “We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way…” (Isaiah 53:6)

 

In fact it has occurred to me that there is not one person on the planet who could not benefit from hearing that their Creator loves them and wants more for them than they could ever want for themselves.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 60, and 61:

Psalm 60 is not the most uplifting song David ever sang, but I like verses 5 and 12 for demonstrating reliance on God.

 

5 Save us and help us with your right hand,
that those you love may be delivered.”

 

12 With God we will gain the victory,
and he will trample down our enemies.”

 

Psalm 61:2 also rang of reliance in desperation:

 

2 From the ends of the earth I call to you,
I call as my heart grows faint;
lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”

 

 

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 85-86:

“Step Eleven suggests prayer and meditation. We shouldn’t be shy on this matter of prayer. Better men than we are using it constantly. It works, if we have the proper attitude and work at it.”

 

