Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Nothing in us can be changed until we first accept it. Step Five, by helping us to know and accept ourselves, makes it possible for us to change and recover.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 48

 

The wisdom of knowing, changing the alterable, and accepting the rest – this makes it apparent that working Step Five is a healthy exercise of  “acting as if” as participation in the answer to our many recitations of the Serenity Prayer.  I find that when I sincerely commit something to prayer, the recollection of that commitment is right there with me when my actions or omissions conflict with it.  For instance, when I pray for opportunities to help someone, I am far less likely to pass by that someone when I see them in need, recognizing that what stands in the way of God’s answer to my prayers is me, my will, wish and way.  When I pray with sincerity for acceptance, pioneering courage, and wise discernment, the conviction to allow God to answer those requests remains with me as long as I remain committed to the spirit of that prayer.  Perhaps this is what is meant by the Scriptural admonition to “continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving.” (Colossians 4:2, RSV)  All day I am living out the life that, at any moment, may be the answer to my prayers.  Flexibility is the willingness to allow God’s hand to move in response to my requests according to His all-seeing wisdom.

 

Dear Father, today, make me pliable.  I offer my stubborn will to You for removal, and I submit all that remains of me for Your purpose.  Make me a blessing to Your created ones today, and keep me from harming even a hair on their head, for I know that You love them each and that You number those hairs of every head.

 

 

From Proverbs 1:

The introduction of the Book of Proverbs heralds just the kind of answer to prayer mentioned above.  How many times have I prayed for wisdom but neglected it when it came to me?  How often has advice clashed with my will, and prideful stubbornness kept me from applying it, or my own self-absorption prevented me from even hearing it in the first place?  The Book of Proverbs, though I read a chapter a day, still contains far more wisdom that I can ever apply or even understand as long as I remain in this body of meat and bone.

1 The proverbs of Solomon son of David, king of Israel:

2 for attaining wisdom and discipline;
for understanding words of insight”

 

Almighty God, fulfill Your Word, and accomplish the purpose of these words as I study and meditate on them.  Teach me Your Way, and help me follow in it.

 

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 57, 58, and 59:

For all who would follow after the man after God’s own heart, David set an example in prayer, praise and worship.  He observed his physical condition, and in it recognized his spiritual predicament, and worshipped according to his spiritual deliverance even while waiting for the physical reality to manifest.  In Psalm 57, hotly pursued by king Saul who sought to kill him, David hid his physical body in a cave and prayed in spiritual submission to the higher priority of God’s purposes.

 

1 Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me,
for in you my soul takes refuge.
I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings
until the disaster has passed.

2 I cry out to God Most High,
to God, who fulfills his purpose for me.”

 

Psalm 58 recognizes the depravity of man and celebrates the coming judgment.  It is a reminder to me that, while grace is not obtained by the works of man, it still must be accepted before judgment will be transformed from condemnation to deliverance.

 

11 Then men will say,
‘Surely the righteous still are rewarded;
surely there is a God who judges the earth.’”

 

Psalm 59, from start to finish, is a prayer of reliance on God for deliverance, submission of vengeance, and praise.

 

1 Deliver me from my enemies, O God;
protect me from those who rise up against me.”

17 O my Strength, I sing praise to you;
you, O God, are my fortress, my loving God.”

 

Inconvenient or even overwhelming circumstances are much less desperate when one accepts them as the working of our loving God’s grander spiritual purposes, and wholly submits to His will, trusting in Him to finish the work He began when He breathed His Spirit into our lifeless forms.

 

 

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 13-14:

“Belief in the power of God, plus enough willingness, honesty and humility to establish and maintain the new order of things, were the essential requirements. Simple, but not easy; a price had to be paid. It meant destruction of self-centeredness.  I must turn in all things to the Father of Light who presides over us all.”

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”

 

I have spent my day submitting to God’s answer to my morning prayers, so this is coming out a little late.  Since I offered to interrupt my schedule for His purposes, God has blessed me with opportunities to minister to people and in ways I would not have imagined.   As I typed that very prayer in a hospital waiting room, a woman called out for me to help her with her coffee.  It was a simple need that could have been met by a moderately trained Baboon, but the gesture opened doors to blessing for both the stranger and me that reflected into the rest of my day.  The awe of the divinely appointed interaction propelled me to encourage others with the encouragement I received through her from God.  From phone calls to hospital room visits, He blessed me with various opportunities to be a blessing.  I have not finished bringing about His purposes for me today, but I am fulfilled and overflowing with joy on account of what He has done already!

