Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We will no longer simply do what we feel like doing or what we think we can get away with. Instead, we will earnestly seek to learn God’s will for us, then we will act accordingly.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 24

“I took what I feel like out of the equation,” is a phrase I have often used to succinctly describe my recovery to the casual inquirer.  Honestly, I have never, not even once, been led by my feelings to go to the gym, but I go three times a week.  If what I felt like had any say in my plan of eating, I would still be sitting in the dark eating pizza and Twinkies, but what I do is what I plan, and that is based on diligent research on the food and eating practices that work best with the Creator’s design for health.  As my knowledge and understanding develops, so does my plan of eating.  Within the last couple weeks I have learned of the health benefits of kale and ginger, so onto my salads they have gone!

Self-denial is easier when viewed as health-promotion.  Eating and living the way I believe God would have me feels more like taking care of His creation than deprivation.  Still, I can only do what I know to do so long before I have to remind myself that those little cravings that sometimes nag at me are “feel like” or “want to” impulses that must be sacrificed repeatedly.

 

From Proverbs 28:

26 He who trusts in himself is a fool,
but he who walks in wisdom is kept safe.”

This goes amazingly well with the VOR thought concerning self-denial and God-discipline.  The lusts of my flesh will always go contrary to my good and God’s plan for me.   Seeking God and His best, committing myself to that path of travel and action will never fail me, but will bring me ultimately to a place closest to where He wants me to be.  To go another way is simply foolish.

“O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

Amen.”  (from Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi)

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 51 and 52:

Psalm 51 is a prayer David prayed after he was confronted by Nathan the prophet about his self-indulgent sin with Bathsheba.  (See 2 Samuel 11 and 12.)  David demonstrates an acknowledgement not only of his sin, but of the universally sinful state of mankind, then a dependence on God, a petition for re-creation, and a promise of service to God in gratitude.  This psalm contains several lines I pray regularly.

7 Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.”

10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
11 Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.”

Psalm 52 is a song David sang when he was being slandered.  He describes the evil of a man bent on harming others, who trusts in his own strength rather than making “7 God his stronghold.”  He describes the fate of such a person as being torn from his tent by God, a phrase that has multi-level implications.  David has elsewhere referred to the body of man as a “tent,” and this was also repeated by Paul and Peter in the New Testament.  (2 Corinthians 5:1, 2 Peter 1:13)  Also referred to as a “tent” were the heavens over the earth (Psalm 104:2), the entire life and household of mankind in general (Psalm 91:10), and even Salvation itself (Revelation 7:15).  The Temple of God, which in the present day is represented in the Christian who is indwelt by the Spirit of God (1 Corinthians 6:19), began as not just a tent, but “The Tent” also called Tabernacle (Exodus 25:8-9).

This makes me think a whole new way about the strange coincidence that Paul, the great missionary, was a tent-maker by trade.  (Acts 18:3)

Holy Creator, Maker and Filler of Tents, strengthen my frame and stretch over me Your covering.  Draw tight the cords of Your protection and keep me pegged securely in the depths of Your Word.  Fill me with the Cloud of Your Presence, so that all that can be seen in me is You.  May You dwell with me on earth, and I with You in Eternity, my God, my Savior!

From Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, page 64:

“When men and women pour so much alcohol into themselves that they destroy their lives, they commit a most unnatural act.  Defying their instinctive desire for self-preservation, they seem bent upon self-destruction.  They work against their own deepest instinct.  As they are humbled by the terrific beating administered by alcohol, the grace of God can enter them and expel their obsession.  Here their powerful instinct to live can cooperate fully with their Creator’s desire to give them new life.  For nature and God alike abhor suicide.”

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

