Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“True comfort is to be found in the balance and sanity of abstinence. So deep and pure is this comfort that it is well worth whatever trouble or pain I might have to pass through to attain it.” — For Today, p. 253

 

The contributor commanded my attention with a nautical reference and a few of my key concepts: courage, integrity, and alignment.  “The years of insomnia and nightmares are over because abstinence gives me the courage to be a person I respect and like, the integrity to align my actions with my values. So when the seas of my life get stormy, I remember the phrase, ‘Abstinence is a lifeboat. Stay in the lifeboat.’”

 

 

From Proverbs 27:

19 As water reflects a face,
so a man’s heart reflects the man.”

 

The moral of this proverb is “the mirror doesn’t lie.”  One could argue that the reflective values of water are insufficient to grant it this infallible assessment, and that the analogy is in the murkiness of the reflection’s quality.  I would imagine that anyone looking at the surface of the water, as was the practice when the Bible was written and metal mirrors were costly, was being still and looking expertly as one who commonly used such a medium.  They, like modern-day man at a bathroom vanity, looked into their mirror hoping to adore what they found, but certainly remained alert for imperfections.  As others peer into our hearts, they are doing the same thing, hoping to find a friend they can trust, but watchfully on the lookout for defects that might harm them.

 

Dear Father, today, may I reflect the same unconditional love that You showed me when, even in my worst condition, You found me valuable and demonstrated that personal esteem by dying for me.  May I not just mimic that love, but may You define my character with it.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 50:

 

Psalm 50 is a song of Asaph, one of the three ministers of music appointed by David to serve at the Temple.  I found a continuation of the theme of reflection as well as the personification of the holy city (a theme from previous days) in verse 2, “From Zion, perfect in beauty, God shines forth.”  The song celebrates the call of the Great Judge, “5 Gather to me my consecrated ones, who made a covenant with me by sacrifice.”  The sacrifice of covenant is not one of bulls and goats, as the psalm continues to explain God has no need, but is the reciprocal self-denial of man as gratitude for a much greater sacrifice, one that brings about his very salvation:

 

23 He who sacrifices thank offerings honors me,
and he prepares the way
so that I may show him the salvation of God.”

 

I did a word study for “sacrifice” and found an interesting list of synonyms.  Among them were: abstinence, forbearance, giving up, relinquishment, renunciation, self-denial, surrender, temperance.  What was that question the other day?  Wasn’t it something about abstinence coming first?  How can God reveal His glory in our lives except that we first turn from the pride that darkens us?

 

Holy One, I turn to You!  From all I would gather to myself, all I would fear, all my pain and whatever I regard, I pivot in preference for relationship with You!  Accept my repentance and cleanse me of the residue of pride, so I may walk in Your light, with “ever-increasing glory.”

 

2 Corinthians 3:17-18, “Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

 

 

From Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, pages 97-98:

“As the body can fail its purpose for lack of nourishment, so can the soul.  We all need the light of God’s reality, the nourishment of His strength, and the atmosphere of His grace.  To an amazing extent the facts of A.A. life confirm this ageless truth.”

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

