Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I know that God would never hand me anything that would harm me or poison my life. Only the disease does that. Only the disease tells me that poison is a treat.”

 

When I made a decision never to eat anything for its entertainment value, but to only use food as fuel for God’s machine, it became easier to plan meals as I believed the Creator designed me to eat.  I can enjoy good things; I just do not eat things for their enjoyment.  Just like I have no monopoly on my understanding of God, I am also no supreme authority on God’s plan for the diet of mankind.  As I continue to learn about nutritional science, my menu changes.  As I move farther away from the circus treats and ballpark meats, I find myself more freely able to make clear, healthy decisions about who I am, why I am here, and what I will eat to fuel me.

 

God, thank You for provision, purpose, and power!   Food is fuel; not fun!

 

 

From Proverbs 23:

There is a two-sided theme to this chapter, and it follows one that has been repeating itself in my other readings and thoughts lately too.  It is simply this: do not follow your heart; lead it!

 

17 Do not let your heart envy sinners,
but always be zealous for the fear of the LORD.”

Several times in this chapter, the reader is cautioned against following, envying, craving, joining in, gazing at, or even engaging in conversation with what might be harmful to the heart.  Likewise, the alternate end of this instruction is repeated: listen, apply your heart, make yourself wise, tune the senses of the body in God’s healthy direction.

 

12 Apply your heart to instruction
and your ears to words of knowledge.”

 

26 My son, give me your heart
and let your eyes keep to my ways”

 

Loving Lord, help me to hear, feel, see, smell and taste Your goodness in all my life that I might not crave the sensations of sin.  Thank You for being my Enough and Plenty, so I might not wander from You.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 42 and 43:

 

These two chapters were once one chapter, and were written a song of the sons of Korah, who was one of the heads of the Levite families, the clan consecrated to the service of the tabernacle and later the temple.  In this song, I hear the despair I would assume one might feel who only had Old Testament knowledge of God.  It seems to be a cry for fulfillment of all the promises of God that are answered in Christ.

 

42:1 As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, O God.
2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?”

 

43:3 Send forth your light and your truth,
let them guide me;
let them bring me to your holy mountain,
to the place where you dwell.”

 

A chorus repeated three times* in these chapters is one of hope in despair:

 

 “Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.”

(*Psalm 42:5, 42:11, 43:5)

 

God, thank You for fulfilling the hopes of Israel in Your Son, Jesus Christ!  May You find in me the unconditional hope sung about by these Levites.  May I thirst and hunger for nothing but You!

 

 

From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, page 99:

“For most of us, the central factor in this spiritual awakening has been our decision to trust a Higher Power with every aspect of our lives. In acting on that decision one day at a time, we have learned a whole new set of skills for living, skills which enable us to clear from our lives everything which might interfere with our trust in this Higher Power. Now we know we don’t have to fear anything that comes to us. Even when things happen to us which we don’t like, we know we have a way of facing each situation squarely and sanely. We have seen that our Higher Power will reveal something of value to us with every experience, as long as we continue practicing this new way of life.

 

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

