Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

One thing I have been learning lately.  My reading, my meditation, and my experiences are all proving this fact to be true: since our bodies are merely vehicles for our spirits, it stands to reason that God uses our bodies and even their malfunction to get the attention of our spirit.  It is easy to point out a spiritual recovery from a mental obsession and physical addiction, but I have also seen it in defiant lives turned around by illness and hateful spirits humbled by physical brokenness.  I am amazed how the Great Orchestrator can put my body in a position for my spirit to hear just what it needs, or to serve in a way that reveals His hand in the process.

 

This is getting posted a little later than I would prefer, but therein is lesson two for me lately: God’s purposes are revealed in the disruptions of my schedule and deviations from my plan.  If I were able to plan God’s interventions in my life, one of us wouldn’t need the other.  Today, I proved it on a very small scale when, during my meditation time, I fell asleep.  God knows what I need even when I try to deprive myself of it for what I believe are good reasons.  Better examples are the stranded motorist waving for help who only seems to appear when I am on my way somewhere I thought was important, or the hungry homeless who asks if I have any money right after I counted out just enough for that frivolous expenditure I had planned.  If I am not flexible when asking for God’s will to happen in my life, I am still running on self-will, and I am still headed for disaster.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“The ‘compulsive overeater who still suffers’ isn’t always a newcomer to OA. He or she can also be an established member experiencing difficulties with the disease of compulsive eating or with other problems.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 148

 

Tradition Five defines the primary purpose of each OA group as being “to carry its message to the compulsive overeater who still suffers.”  The point here is that we don’t have to go far to find those still suffering.  Many times when we gather to pray at the close of a meeting we may be holding the hand of just such a person.  Am I doing all I can to carry the message of recovery?  Am I doing all I can to live a healthy example of that message?  “Those of us who live this program don’t simply carry the message; we are the message.”* Have I closed myself off, excusing this isolating behavior as taking care of me so I can help others, only to neglect my responsibility to turn to others and share the oxygen mask?

 

(*From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106)

 

 

From Proverbs 20:

4 A sluggard does not plow in season;
so at harvest time he looks but finds nothing.”

 

We humans, but especially addicts, have a common problem of expecting instant gratification.  We put off any action that does not promise immediate rewards, and so, become what other farmers would consider a sluggard.  We fail to diligently prepare for long-term success because it feels tedious or seems too risky to bother.  Farming is quite a gamble, but then so is spending ourselves on others, loving one another without expecting anything in return.  None of these things have any guarantees of our pleasure.  Yet every one of them is necessary to enjoy the fulfilled life of a person designed to do just that.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 38:

3 Because of your wrath there is no health in my body;
my bones have no soundness because of my sin.
4 My guilt has overwhelmed me
like a burden too heavy to bear.”

 

Spoken like a true compulsive overeater!

 

21 O LORD, do not forsake me;
be not far from me, O my God.
22 Come quickly to help me,
O Lord my Savior.”

 

Spoken like a true recovering compulsive overeater!

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “How It Works” page 83:

“The spiritual life is not a theory. We have to live it.”

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

