Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

Congratulations, to any of you who are involved in tax preparation, on the completion of another tax season!

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“How do we get through these times without overeating? We don’t panic. Instead we quietly reaffirm our personal guidelines and ask our Higher Power to help us continue living within them. Then we turn away from food and eating to focus our attention on our OA Fellowship and the Twelve Steps.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, pp. 23-24

 

My sponsor taught me to give thanks at each meal, not only for the meal itself, but for my abstinence, and for God making the previous meal enough to get me through.  He suggested that I then pray that this meal would likewise be enough to see me to the next mealtime.  I took that one step farther: I consider the hours in between those meals a spiritual fast.  This way, every fleeting food thought becomes a reminder to pray, to call, to serve others, to reach out and connect with someone else who may be suffering with this disease.  This turned my overwhelming 24-hour “day at a time” into manageable one-moment-at-a-time segments.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 16:

26 The laborer’s appetite works for him; his hunger drives him on.”

 

This verse confirms that God is aware and interested in my appetite and has designed it with a purpose, just like He designed me for mine.  It serves a normal eater as a reminder that he must fuel himself, and that he must get up and work at whatever occupation he has chosen and do enough to be able to supply his family.  For me, it serves as more of a reminder that I am a machine, designed to be fueled, certainly, but more important that the Manufacturer of my body and life had in mind far greater things when He designed me than the amusement of my senses with entertaining but inefficient food.  He built me to connect with and serve other people.  “My life is not about me” is one of the primary lessons of my recovery.  Pangs of hunger were not meant to be painful, but motivational.

What will I allow myself to be motivated to do today?  This is where a plan of action comes in handy.  No one cracks a whip over a mule without first tacking it with harness and bridle.

Lord, Your will be done today.  Give me knowledge of Your will for me and the power to carry that out.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 31 and 32:

Psalm 31 is a song of devotion.  It begins with an outcry for deliverance, moves through a declaration of separation from evil and a pleading description of need for a savior, and finishes with praise for the One who is that Savior.

 

14 But I trust in you, O LORD;
I say, “You are my God.”
15 My times are in your hands;
deliver me from my enemies
and from those who pursue me.
16 Let your face shine on your servant;
save me in your unfailing love.”

 

In Psalm 32, the writer used all three contexts of address for a song: human to human, human to God, and God to human.   I promise I did not read this before I wrote the devotion above, but right in the part that speaks from God to man, this is what I found that jerked me to attention:

 

8 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
I will counsel you and watch over you.
9 Do not be like the horse or the mule,
which have no understanding
but must be controlled by bit and bridle
or they will not come to you.”

 

The Lord’s gift of understanding and wisdom stands as His substitute for bit and bridle.  And He gives it to any who ask in faith, according to James 1:5, “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.”  My understanding of God indicates He does not want domesticated beasts of burden, but loving children, who honor Him by seeking to learn and follow His will for them.  Christ Himself said to His disciples, in John 15:15 , “I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”   Paul described it to the Greeks in the hill country of Galatia this way, “7 So you are no longer a slave, but a son; and since you are a son, God has made you also an heir.” (See Galatians 4:4-7; also Romans 8:15, Ephesians 1:5.)

 

Holy Father, I thank You for rescuing me from my death sentence, and purchasing me from my captivity in sin.  Provide me with understanding enough to share, that I may help others escape from the slavery to self-service.  Help me be an honorable son and heir.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 86:

“We may not be able to determine which course to take. Here we ask God for inspiration, an intuitive thought or a decision. We relax and take it easy. We don’t struggle. We are often surprised how the right answers come after we have tried this for a while.”

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

