Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

I have had some very big news this week that I am excited about.  My empty nest is repopulating, and this is happening very quickly.  My daughter graduates from college next month and plans to return home until she gets a job or decides to return to graduate school.  My son has decided to leave his roommates’ dwelling of rebellion and go into ministry.  Until he can accomplish this through study and training, he has humbly requested to return to his former living quarters at our home.  I am impressed with how God has grown His children in these last very short years.  I am also amazed at the changes He has made in their earthly dad, which have created an environment to which they, primary victims of my character defects, have become willing to return.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Sometimes we uncover old traumas… Until we begin to deal with them, some of us found that our abstinence was precarious or we continued to feel unhappy, even while we were abstaining and working the Steps.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 50-51

Making the Fourth Step’s searching and fearless moral inventory and sharing the exact nature of my wrongs in the Fifth Step was a lot like doing surgery on myself without anesthesia.  There was some hurtful prying into personal, guarded places, and revealing some of those things for the first time was like cutting away tumors from deep within me.  Afterwards, I was left feeling open, laid bare, raw.  In that state, my abstinence hung from a thread, but my eagerness to move toward healing from that fueled the readiness required for Step Six, “were entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character.”  These Steps are laid out in order for a reason.

 

From Proverbs 15:

32 Those who disregard discipline despise themselves,
but the one who heeds correction gains understanding.

33 Wisdom’s instruction is to fear the LORD,
and humility comes before honor.”  (NIV)

While I am celebrating the restoration of a family scattered by the natural desires and processes of youth and the defective character of an angry self-will addict, these two verses rung especially clear.  The word “disregard” is one that has great personal meaning to me.  It is one I often feel applies when I get self-centric, when others don’t seem to be revolving quite enough around me.  It is also a word that, when turned around onto God and others, can show me exactly why I had begun feeling that way.  When I feel disregarded, it is always because I have disregarded my purpose in serving God and His children, and have given myself priority.  Self-pity always seems to begin this way.  This is why I believe verse 33 follows the theme.  In order to receive the honor of the Lord’s understanding, the recipient needs to humble himself and get in proper position and posture to accept God’s correction.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 29 and 30:

29:11 The LORD gives strength to his people;
the LORD blesses his people with peace.”

30:2 O LORD my God, I called to you for help
and you healed me.”

30:5b  …weeping may remain for a night,

but rejoicing comes in the morning.”

God, I am grateful for all You have done, from filling my grandfather Adam’s nostrils with Your Breath of Life, to waking me this morning and warming me with Your sunrise.  Thank You for my daily provision, and from freedom from its rule; for always being my enough and my plenty; for satisfying my every need.  I am especially grateful for Your rescuing me from the slavery of self, and in so doing, delivering me to bless those I once harmed in that bondage.  You, Lord, are faithful, even when I am not!  Bless You, Lord!  My soul is healed because of YOU!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 188:

“All members of the family should meet upon the common ground of tolerance, understanding and love. This involves a process of deflation.”

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

