Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

My sponsor and I are making changes to my Plan of Eating today due to some recent changes in weight.  As my body changes, I am trying to remain flexible.  I began losing about a pound a week when my job assignment became more active, so we had added a serving of cereal grain at lunch.  Now that my body has adjusted to the change, it is time to take that cereal grain (and its 150 corresponding calories) off my daily plan in order to stop a slow but consistent rise in body mass.

I am having a busy day.  I had a meeting this morning, an Intergroup meeting this afternoon, and a visit from my daughter this weekend, so everything got a little delayed.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We gratefully follow in the footsteps of many others who have walked this way before us, and we’re gratified to be making footprints of our own for others to follow.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106

This is one of my favorite statements from OA’s “Twelve and Twelve.”  In fact, when leading meetings, I encourage a moment of silence before the closing prayer to reflect on just this very point.  Gratitude for those who came before keep me is one of my motivations behind leading others today.  I am one of a string of pedestrians on a common path, and I am happy to share the road with those who walk before, beside, and behind me.

 

 

From Proverbs 14:

15 A simple man believes anything,
but a prudent man gives thought to his steps.”

While a simple man suffers from the self-imposed imprudence of gullibility, a thought-and-behavior-impaired person, like an addict or a compulsive overeater, suffers from an involuntary version of the same dilemma.  In the mental fog of compulsive self-indulgence, giving thought to our steps is not always an option.  This is why it is important to follow a spiritual path laid down by those who have proved it before us.

Thank God for OA, the Twelve Steps, those who have printed these steps, and all who have followed!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 27 and 28:

From beginning to end, Psalm 27 speaks of trust that becomes faith and leads to courage to stand firm and wait for the Lord to do what He will.

1 The LORD is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?”

14 Wait for the LORD;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the LORD.”

Chapter 28 continues the celebration of this trust with some gratitude for God’s loving-kindness added:

6 Praise be to the LORD,
for he has heard my cry for mercy.”

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 48:

“Faced with alcoholic destruction, we soon became as open minded on spiritual matters as we had tried to be on other questions. In this respect alcohol was a great persuader. It finally beat us into a state of reasonableness.”

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

