Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

I managed to get off on a bad foot this morning.  I was given an opportunity to do service for someone close to me, but I bobbled it resisting the last minute change in schedule and, in the process, harmed the one who needed my help.  I need to be quicker on the draw with recognizing and acting on such opportunities in the future and remain more flexible, so I may translate God’s energy in me to His service in helping those in need.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Practicing the principle of faith today means that we will no longer go through life acting however we feel like acting at any given moment. Instead we will look to our Higher Power for guidance and strength as we face each decision.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters p. 104

The pattern of my life (even this morning) proves that what I feel like is not good for me or my relationships.  The pattern of my recovery proves that when I do what I believe God would have me do, I get the best of life.  This reality fuels itself, as each time I trust and receive, believing becomes easier the next time.  As my motives shift from self to others, doing the right thing seems less like self-sacrifice and more of a reward activator.

 

 

From Proverbs 12:

“Acting on life rather than reacting to it” seems the theme of this chapter, which promotes careful planning and diligent effort.  The verse that jabbed me in the heart after the convicting morning I had was verse 18, “Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”  The truth is that reckless communication of any kind whether in word, action, inaction, or reluctant passive resistance, are equally as hurtful.  How many times have I grudgingly performed the motions of service, but made the one served feel the burden of my “sacrifice”?  The word “sacrifice” is derived from the Latin roots that mean “to make holy.”  There is nothing holy-making about dragging grudgingly along the motions of service.  There is no help done in any such instance, but harm is multiplied to both parties, as the friction caused by that kind of action just rubs everyone the wrong way.  Responding recklessly, reacting to stimulus without thought, is what makes bees sting and mules kick.  It is not how the wise contribute to the world around them.  Helpful healing takes at least momentary deliberation and the exercise of loving care.  It is a characteristic of the wise, one I hope to develop as I continue on this road of progress.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 24:

Today’s reading opened with a declaration of universal ownership in which I find great joy and comfort:

1 The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it,
the world, and all who live in it;
2 for he founded it upon the seas
and established it upon the waters.”

There is a song I often hear, called “Everything Glorious” in which the David Crowder Band sings to the Creator, “You make everything glorious, and I am Yours.  What does that make me?”  When I am struggling to love myself, those around me, or both, this very thought helps immensely.  How shall I love one whom the Lord has made?  The rest of His writing would seem to answer, “as you would Me!”  What would I do for You Lord?  Anything!  How would I do it, Holy Father?  Enthusiastically!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 77:

“Our real purpose is to fit ourselves to be of maximum service to God and the people about us.”

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

