Today:

Happy Easter!  This is the holiday that makes any other worth observing.  It is the celebration of the resurrection of my Higher Power, the Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“‘If I disagree with God, guess who’s wrong?’ By whatever means we were created, that creation process determines my eating needs. My health and well-being depend on my willingness to cooperate with that reality. I cannot do God’s part; I never could, but as I operate in harmony with what God does, I am recovering.  It is the same with all of life’s activities.”

Overeating, alcohol, narcotics, sexual misconduct, spending, gambling, any compulsion from which we suffer is a trained response of self-service, a neuropathological rut dug so deeply that we cannot disengage from it on our own.  Recovery, from ours or any other addiction, is a move away from self-will, into alignment with the Designer’s will.  Whether I believe first or take action first doesn’t seem to matter.  That is why “acting as if” produces results.  This operating in harmony with God seems to still His hand of correction from blocking our way and, as we begin to walk His direction, we start to feel His comfort, His health, His blessing.  While we walk with Him, He is faithful to reveal more and more of Himself to us as well as His will for us and the power to carry that out, as we seek to improve our conscious contact with Him.

Thank You, Heavenly Father, for leading me to the Way, the Truth, and the Life, and for walking with me all the way.   Continue to reveal more of Yourself to me, even as You guide me along Your path, and empower me to faithfully follow.

 

From Proverbs 8:

17 I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me.”

This statement is made by the Spirit of Wisdom, and it reminds me that God does not make too difficult the path to find Him.  He is not hiding like some colored egg in a field.  His wisdom is a rare and precious jewel, worthy of being sought out and pursued, but He remains accessible and reveals Himself to all who seek.  Christ said in Matthew 7:7-8, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 18:

46 The LORD lives!  Praise be to my Rock!   Exalted be God my Savior!”

What a great gem to discover in the Old Testament on Resurrection Sunday!  It goes as a nice completion to verse 2, “The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;  my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.”

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Our Southern Friend”:

“There are disturbances, but I have learned that if I seek patience and open-mindedness, understanding will come. And with it, direction by the Spirit of God. The dawn comes and with it more understanding, the peace that passes understanding, and the joy of living that is not disturbed by the wildness of circumstances or people around me. Fears, resentments, pride, worldly desires, worry, and self-pity no longer possess me.”

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

