Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

Today is Holy Saturday or in Latin, Sabbatum Sanctum (literally Holy Sabbath).  It is sometimes called “Black Saturday,” a day of mourning for the Messiah, who was thought to be dead following his crucifixion on Friday.  Aha, but Sunday’s comin’!

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Stubbornness is ego-driven and fear-based. Perseverance is surrender to my Higher Power and is faith-based.”

 

The man-on-the-street interviewer steps up to you out of the crowd, spotlight and camera are shoved in your face, the toothy grin poses the poll question, “You, yes, you!  Where do you stand on this issue?  Do you feel people should live by fear or by faith?”  The microphone tossed in your direction waits for your answer.

 

Seems a no-brainer!  So why is it so difficult in so many minds?  Because doing what is right amid fear takes courage, and doing it consistently takes planning and work.  Donkeys aren’t obstinate because they hate their owners; they are afraid to make any changes because they don’t know how the outcomes will affect them.  They kick first and look backward second.

 

The only antidote to fear-driven resistance is surrender.  It is a “come-what-may I’ll follow anyway” commitment.  It comes easier with trust in the one leading the way, but it only comes fully when the one being led decides that, even if the leader takes him through harmful circumstances, he will still follow and believe.

 

Precious Papa, thank You for making the decision so easy.  I choose to live by faith, not fear.  Please help me to be consistent in following this decision.  I want to follow You no matter what!

 

 

From Proverbs 7:

2 Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.”

 

Here is the answer to the natural question that follows such a commitment as, “come what may, I will follow You,” the question of “How?”  This particular chapter demonstrates how it can be used to avoid even the most tempting situations, like the adulterous “wayward wife.”  The specifics paint a detailed picture of the seductress and the consequences of giving into her persuasion, but it is that kind of preview that helps one prepare for the moment of response.  Whether the lure is scarlet bedclothes perfumed with cinnamon and aloes or a discount store aisle donned with candy eggs and edible symbols of the faith you profess, the same prescription is indicated: pause, pray, proceed as directed, not as tempted.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 17:

8 Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings…”

 

Albert Einstein said, “Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous.”  I prefer to think of it as His signature on the details of my life.  However full my glass may be, the two preceding verses addressing the apple of one’s eye call for a closer look.  In the previous, David’s son exhorts us to focus on Wisdom’s teaching – God’s command.  In the latter, David himself begs God to fill His eyes with David himself, the ancestor of the faithful, to keep and protect him though his enemies were mustering against him.

 

Some scholars assert that “keep me as the apple of your eye” refers to protecting the central aperture of the eye itself, the pupil.  When something comes near a conscious person’s eye, the natural response is to blink, recoil, and protect it with active force.  I appreciate this perspective too, but it goes well with my favored notion of the “apple” being that fruit-bearing focus of attention, the admiration poets have given that phrase to mean.  With this as the meaning, the word “keep” would indicate a relationship of intimacy David already knew existed, since he did not use the alternative, “Make me the apple…”

 

Eyelids, arms, wings, or angelic armies, close Yourself around my life, dear God my Father!  Continue the relationship You established and paid for, and hold me close in Your loving care.  Until I sit at Your feet, keep me in Your attentive gaze.  Know my life and guide me in Your way for me.  Direct me to Your side and forgive my occasional departures.  Make me Yours and Yours alone, and save me from distraction.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Into Action” page 87:

“Nevertheless, we find that our thinking will, as time passes, be more and more on the plane of inspiration. We come to rely upon it.”

 

 

OD@aT:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

 

 

