Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

Today is Maundy Thursday.  “Maundy” refers to the “mandate” given by Jesus Christ to His disciples on the night before He was crucified.  After setting an example of humility and service by washing the feet of His fellows, He commissioned them (and therefore, me) to go and do likewise.  “15 I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. 16 I tell you the truth, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. 17 Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.” (John 13:15-17)

 

God give me opportunity, awareness, willingness and ability to give of myself to serve someone today; and keep me from harming anyone.  According to Christ’s example and in His name, Amen!

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“God is not my arms and legs. It is up to me to do the footwork. Ours is a program of action.” — For Today, p. 136

 

One of the best things I can do for my recovery is to pray for God’s help in the morning, and remember not to stand in the way of that help the rest of the day.  When my arms and legs block His healing and provision, I cannot be disappointed in my unanswered prayer.  The blame falls right back on me.   “Please help me lose weight” never worked because I never followed it up with, “and I will eat what You intended me to eat so that I can live as You intended me to live.”

 

Fuel me for Your purpose, and help me carry out Your will, never mine.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 5:

23 He will die for lack of discipline, led astray by his own great folly.

 

This verse blames the death of the wicked on his lack of discipline.  I used to believe that “discipline” referred to the characteristic of other people who seemed able to make themselves do what they wanted.  I am learning that true discipline is taking hold of wise teaching and applying it regardless of what I want.  It is an adjustment of priorities to favor the will of someone wiser, in my case, God, over the will of the disciple.  My will is referred to as “great folly.”  It is a road that leads somewhere I do not wish to go.  The time for following that road is over.  I choose to follow the Master.  His will is what makes me whole.   Alcoholics Anonymous (page 88) puts it this way, “We alcoholics are undisciplined. So we let God discipline us…

 

The love God asks me to have for others should follow His example of self-sacrifice.  When my life is lived according to His Spirit, this kind of love will emanate as an expression of that Spirit.  The key here is to terminate the nature of self in a daily spiritual execution.  I regularly rehearse a Scripture that helps me to keep this practice, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.  The life I live in the body I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave himself up for me.”  (Galatians 2:20)

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 14 and 15:

Psalm 14:5 reminds me that the universal human condition is one of depravity, “3 All have turned aside, they have together become corrupt.”  While I am responsible to eliminate it daily, I am not unique in my self-serving bent.

 

Psalm 15 describes the ideal man.  It is not someone I can be on my own power, but under the discipline of the Almighty, a person “3 casts no slur on his fellowman…” and, “4 keeps his oath even when it hurts.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “How It Works” page 71:

“We hope you are convinced now that God can remove whatever self-will has blocked you off from Him. If you have already made a decision, and an inventory of your grosser handicaps, you have made a good beginning.”

 

 

 

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

