Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I remind myself daily to accept people exactly as they are, with all their frailties, shortcomings, and other human weaknesses.”

Forgiveness is the key to erasing the resentments that haunt us.  I have to practice this forgiveness always, applying it more and more quickly, until the forgiveness precedes the disappointment and becomes acceptance.  A verse that helps me do this is Colossians 3:13, “Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”  A clean conscience requires that, if I accept God’s forgiveness, I have to be quick to forgive my antagonists.  To let their assault do me harm is to let my enemy triumph over me.

From Proverbs Chapter 4:

20 My son, pay attention to what I say; listen closely to my words. … 22 for they are life to those who find them and health to a man’s whole body.

In this chapter, Solomon passes to his son a legacy of wisdom for all generations from the Father of us all, which he received from his father, King David, and which my Heavenly Father has now delivered to me, still appropriately addressed to “My son.”  The Preeminent Papa has life to give, and His design is for us to accomplish complete health by carefully applying His teaching.  Omission results in lapses of this whole wellness.

God, teach me and help me follow Your way.  My way only robs me of what You intended me to be and to have.  Please help me be faithful.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 9 – 13:

David’s songs of God’s praise help boost my faith, my peace, and my joy.

9:10, “Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

10:17, “You hear, O LORD, the desire of the afflicted; you encourage them, and you listen to their cry…

11: 7, “For the LORD is righteous, he loves justice; upright men will see his face.”

12:5, “‘Because of the oppression of the weak and the groaning of the needy, I will now arise,’ says the LORD.  ‘I will protect them from those who malign them.’

13:5, “But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation.”

Thank You, God, for hope!

From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, pages 104-105:

We discover that we do receive guidance for our lives to just about the extent that we stop making demands upon God to give it to us on order and on our terms.  Almost any experienced A.A will tell how his affairs have taken remarkable and unexpected turns for the better as he tried to improve his conscious contact with God.  he will also report that out of every season of grief or suffering, when the hand of God seemed heavy or even unjust, new lessons for living were learned, new resources of courage were uncovered, and that finally, inescapably, the conviction came that God does ‘move in a mysterious way His wonders to perform.’”

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

