Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

I recognized, after publishing my last couple posts, that I have confused the date and some chapter numbers.  I will get on the right page and try to keep focused.  As I write this, I have just begun my day by spilling almost a quart of coffee onto a hospital waiting room carpet, and have thereby made myself more of a harm than a help, but the mission of my visit is helpful.  I guess mistakes and accidents keep me humble, so I will accept them and move on.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“God is the source of my abstinence and the source of my repose from the trials and tribulations of life on earth.”

 

God is the source of my lungs and the air that fills them.  He is the designer and constructor of the neural network that allows me to sense pain, and He is the source of all my joy.  Everything I have comes from Him, and recognizing this makes living according to His will less of a chore and more of a fulfilling completion of that design. 

 

Living according to my will, my disappointments are driven by the push and pull of what I feel and what I deserve, and satisfaction perpetually eludes me.  Living for what I want keeps me from enjoying anything I have or might obtain.  In giving up my will, I find myself freed to live and love and experience all of God’s treasures, including abstinence and serenity.

 

 

Since I skipped ahead yesterday, today I read Proverbs Chapter 2:

6 For the LORD gives wisdom, and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.

 

I often celebrate the creation of Adam in my mind.  As Genesis 2:7 tells it, “the LORD God formed the man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.”   These passages blend for me into a progressive awakening of man, like a resuscitation, first from dust to life, then from dull to understanding.  It is God who breathed the life into the clay, and it is God who breathes Life into the spirit.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 5, 6, 7, and 8:

I well remember many occasions when the “how long?” sentiment of Psalm 6 and much around it helped me to know that I was not unique in my suffering.  Few suffered like David, and he was both skilled and spiritually tuned to express his pain, joy, and loving relationship with God in a way that has strummed the heartstrings of many since.  Psalms are prayerful songs or, from an alternate perspective, musical prayers.  Psalm 7:9 summarizes the plea of these few chapters nicely, “O righteous God, who searches minds and hearts, bring to an end the violence of the wicked and make the righteous secure.

 

Psalm 8 is a beautiful registry of David’s humility relative to God’s supremacy.  He acknowledges that man is properly positioned a little lower than the angels and in authority over the animals of the earth.  Verses 1 and 9 repeat the exclamation, “O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “A Vision For You” page 161:

They had seen miracles, and one was to come to them. They had visioned the Great Reality—their loving and All Powerful Creator.”

 

 

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

