Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Every time I pick up the phone to call my sponsor or an OA friend, each time I take up my pen to write, I move myself along the path of freedom, awareness, acceptance, love, and recovery.”

There is very little in nature that tolerates stagnation.  Generally speaking we either progress or regress.  Especially in recovery, if we just cease to advance we begin our decline.  That is why constructive use of recovery tools that help us to express the feelings that might otherwise become resentments or insecurities is so critically important.  Just like with my food choices, I cannot rely on how I “feel” to determine whether I make a call, write, pray, or take a problem through the Steps.  I have to make these actions a regular part of my daily life in order to maintain growth.

The VOR entry today referenced fear of expression as a hindrance to recovery.  The accepting, supportive, anonymous fellowship of OA keeps the realization of such fears to a minimum, and the guidance of a sponsor can help us keep from doing harm to others while we find a healthy freedom from our silence.  One of the most important breakthroughs I have experienced came when a friend in recovery told me, “What others think of you is none of your business.”  Another came when the Spirit convicted me of the reverse, “What you think of others is none of their business either.”  It is important to recognize the difference between expressing feelings and abusing others with them.

From Proverbs Chapter 31:

26 She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

I wonder if, in sharing my experience and hope, I have been entirely faithful to the One who strengthens me through it all, as “10 A wife of noble character,” a member of the “bride of Christ,” His Church, should be.  Have I given credit only to Whom it is due, or have I painted my experience in the passenger’s seat as driving expertise?  The other half of “faithful instruction” is not related to credit, but to integrity.  Is what I say consistent with what I know to be the truth?  I do not possess wisdom, but it is important for me to keep what I say in proper alignment with what the Spirit teaches me.

I have a bad habit of competing for approval, attention, recognition.  I was recently reminded of this when it was pointed out that I sometimes shame my wife by criticizing her in front of people, an egregious example of both unfaithfulness and an improper attempt at instruction.  This unacceptable defect of character apparently stems from a fear that others might associate me with the criticized behavior.  So the public criticism separates me from the minor annoyance but also from the woman I love, and creates a much more monstrous problem within me.

With this competitive unfaithfulness in my nature, I have to stand on guard against speaking for selfish motives and glory-grabbing.  It is contrary to the Spirit, and does not exemplify the characteristics of the noble bride.

God, keep my motives pure and extinguish my self-serving attitudes, so I may better reflect Your image.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Psalm 1:

1 Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers. 2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.

“Blessed to avoid the mess” is how I might paraphrase this tiny chapter.  Have you ever wondered what it would be like to stand where somebody stands or sit where they sit, or see what they see?  We are promised we will be happier if we never visit the perspective of the sinful.  I don’t even want to imagine what it might be like to know what the immoral know.  Ignorance may not be bliss but purity is paradise!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 86:

Our thought-life will be placed on a much higher plane when our thinking is cleared of wrong motives.”

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

