Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Even though I thought I was making it easier for myself by not doing service, I was actually making it harder on myself by denying myself the tool that so effectively enhances my recovery.”

 

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, but I am also recovering (perhaps more slowly) from other compulsions and obsessions.  One of the proofs is my garage.  Crammed to capacity, it has every tool I have ever needed badly enough to purchase, and many more I have no idea how to use.  The object lesson of my garage is that I properly and diligently maintain only the tools that get used regularly.  The mystery wrenches and the specialty saws gather dust, but go-to gadgets get put right where I can reach them and stay in serviceable condition.  I imagine that, as implements of God’s purposes, we choose, by our decision to serve or not to serve, whether we are an available apparatus or just a closet contraption hidden away in some dark neglected space.  Why would I sharpen an axe I never use?  Why would I expect God to repeatedly invest in an instrument that refuses to submit to performing the task it was assigned?  By submitting to service, even doing those things for which I do not feel I am designed or ready, I am placing myself in the hands of the One who uses tools, and He will match my opportunities to my design if I just make myself available.  It is for service that we were created in the first place!  “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” (Ephesians 2:10)  “Our real purpose is to fit ourselves to be of maximum service to God and the people about us.” (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 77)

Some of the service opportunities with which we are presented don’t feel proper or appealing, but the call of the Creator who washed the feet of even His betrayer was to do likewise. “I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.” (John 13:15)  Service is not just slimming; it is shaping, strengthening, stimulating, sustaining, and satisfying.

From Proverbs Chapter 30:

4 Who has gone up to heaven and come down?

   Who has gathered up the wind in the hollow of his hands?

Who has wrapped up the waters in his cloak?

   Who has established all the ends of the earth?

What is his name, and the name of his son?

   Tell me if you know!

This one verse capsulizes the theme of yesterday’s chapters of Job, and even manages to allude to the coming Son.  While the question posed is “who?” an assumed subordinate query is, “Have you?”  That question’s rhetorical “no” duplicates, in miniature, the humbling experience of the last few chapters of Job.  The puzzle of all the centuries of wonder is in these questions.  Who did all this?  I forget sometimes what an honor it is to have been introduced to the answer.  I certainly do love my Higher Power!

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Job 42:

After God’s chastising, Job recognized his arrogance.  “5 My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you. 6 Therefore I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes.”  A common response to close experiences with God is an increased level of humility.  The more He becomes to me, the less I need to be.  Job’s experience was overwhelmingly extreme, and his response was to despise himself.  I have found that when I, as a servant, place my spirit at the feet of Him who made me, He rarely leaves me there, but lifts me into his lap and lavishes me with the attention a Father gives a child.  In the embrace of the Creator, what do I need to prove, and what do I need to justify?  Who do I think I need to be?  In that moment, none of that matters, and I despise all I ever thought I might have been in preference for my relationship with Papa.

The Book of Job ends with as much of a “happily ever after” as any non-fiction saga could.  The chastised friends repented and presented their offerings for their sinful talk, and Job prayed for them.  “10 After Job had prayed for his friends, the LORD made him prosperous again and gave him twice as much as he had before.”  I am grateful for the Mediator who presents the offering and the prayers that bring me back into relationship with the Father.  Christ the Sacrifice and the Spirit who intercedes tie this treasure up for me, and make it possible for God to dwell in and with me.  It is a prosperity I would not trade for a hundred winning lottery tickets!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 56:

This man recounts that he tumbled out of bed to his knees. In a few seconds he was overwhelmed by a conviction of the Presence of God. It poured over and through him with the certainty and majesty of a great tide at flood. The barriers he had built through the years were swept away. He stood in the Presence of Infinite Power and Love. He had stepped from bridge to shore. For the first time, he lived in conscious companionship with his Creator.”

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

May the breath of the Almighty give you life, and understanding to enjoy it!  *

