Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Our heartfelt concept of God wasn’t working…” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 16

 

The “heartfelt concept of God” in this passage was one of doubt and disappointment.  A preceding statement in the OA12&12 identified the problem that needed to get swept away, “We believed intellectually that God could do anything, but deep in our hearts we ‘knew’ God couldn’t help us with this area of our lives.”  Whatever had us convinced that God couldn’t or wouldn’t help us was a mistake on our parts, not on God’s.  I know this, because as soon as I submitted to living according to principles that aligned with best practices for human health and life, He began to recreate me accordingly.  It was as though He had been waiting for me to stop working against Him all along.  The truth is our heart’s desires have been lying to us our whole lives.  Jeremiah 17:9 warns, “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure.  Who can understand it?”  The cure is in learning to do the next right thing, regardless of what the heart wants.

 

My Creator and Designer, be Lord of my life, and help me to follow Your will and never mine!

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 25:

6 Do not exalt yourself in the king’s presence, and do not claim a place among great men; 7 it is better for him to say to you, ‘Come up here,’ than for him to humiliate you before a nobleman.

When my Higher Power walked on this earth, He often taught from His study of the Book of Proverbs.  This is one of the lessons on humility He preached, although He used the less palatial setting of a wedding, which anyone might attend.   (See Luke 14:7-14.)  The point of either version is that I should go against my pride’s programming and put others before myself.  In doing so, I reap the reward of humility, and also leave room to be exalted by others.

 

Almighty King, help me to keep myself humble, so that I might not incur the correction of humiliation.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Job 18, 19, 20, and 21:

Though his friends misunderstand the misfortune of Job and repeatedly accuse him of bringing about his own fate, he responds with the hope that comes from faith, even in his pain, “19:25 I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. 26 And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God.”  Even in his preoccupation with his suffering, he managed to point out the need for humility, “21:22 Can anyone teach knowledge to God, since he judges even the highest?

 

God, who is my Judge and my Advocate, keep me humble before Your created men, so I will be sure never to stretch my pride over or against You.  And when, at last, my eyes fill with tears upon seeing You, may they be tears of joyful union, and not of regret and shame.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Working With Others” page 94:

Actually, he may be helping you more than you are helping him. Make it plain he is under no obligation to you, that you hope only that he will try to help other alcoholics when he escapes his own difficulties. Suggest how important it is that he place the welfare of other people ahead of his own.

 

 

 

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

