Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I looked around the meeting and saw the faces of people with MY problem, and it was their problem, too. For the first time, I could read the rest of the wonderful book and see myself in the answer instead of only in the problem.”

 

This was huge for me, and I thank God for the people in the rooms those first few meetings, who were willing to tell their story.  Hearing my life in the stories of other people was what convinced me right away that I was coming home, and that I did not have to be afraid or ashamed.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 23:

12 Apply your heart to instruction and your ears to words of knowledge.

 

I have recently been considering the difference between accepting a statement, believing a principle, knowing a truth, and trusting something as fact.  I have long been convinced that any who are right would trust what they know as fact to the exclusion of all else.  This single verse instructs the wise to keep the heart and ears open to new knowledge, more than just accepting it, but “applying” one’s heart to instruction, leaning into it, looking for it, and letting it in the ears when it is found.

 

May I trust what I know, but never with such obstinance that I refuse to be taught.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Job 14 and 15:

14 All the days of my hard service I will wait for my renewal [or release] to come. 15 You will call and I will answer you; you will long for the creature your hands have made.”  This passage from Chapter 14 sang to my heart.  Even in Job’s complaint, he spoke the words my own spirit cries in recovery.  God is renewing me, releasing me from the distorted version of myself my misbehavior had made me.  He is delivering me daily from the misshapen image of my warped life and longs for me to return to that design He fashioned when I was brought forth off His potter’s wheel.  When He calls I will answer!

 

In Chapter 15, Eliphaz told the story of the defiant that sounds a lot like my history.  Here are excerpts that concisely deliver his point:  “20 All his days the wicked man suffers torment… 24 Distress and anguish fill him with terror… 27 Though his face is covered with fat and his waist bulges with flesh…  30 He will not escape the darkness… 34 For the company of the godless will be barren…

 

God, I thank You for moistening my spirit to be pliable even after I have made myself brittle with bitterness for so long.  Thank You for speaking to me and teaching me even out of a difficult book like Job.  Thank You for the hope of renewal, my Redeemer and Deliverer!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Into Action” page 84:

We will suddenly realize that God is doing for us what we could not do for ourselves.”

 

 

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

