Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“My life consists of single moments. I occupy them one at a time, savoring the fullness of each, and find that there is no room for fear.” — For Today, p. 293

 

Fear is living forward of the moment I am given, just as remorse is leaning backward into the past.  I find I have the best structural integrity for clearly reflecting God’s grace when I lean neither forward nor backward, but keep in line with each moment as it comes.  My weary frame is easily bent and twisted by the winds of resentment, but only if I forget to let them blow by and stand firmly in the power of God’s forgiveness for me and all my fellows.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 21:

1 The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD; he directs it like a watercourse wherever he pleases.

 

I love this verse for its ability to remind me that even Pharaoh turned his wrath when God hardened his heart. When other people are involved is when I am most likely to get anxious.  A troublesome coworker, an insecure boss, a court judge, a mortgage officer, all these and more are the “kings” of my world, and their involvement in my life can have a swaying effect on one or more legs of my three-legged frame if I am not careful.  This verse reopens the valve of trust, and reminds me that none of those characters in the production of my life has more say than the Great Producer and Director.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Job 7, 8, and 9:

Job is in the midst of his torment and his speech betrays his self-pity.  He sounds a little like anyone else I have known in despair, but his self-concern is overwhelming him to the point that he is treading on dangerous ground.  Still I found a few nuggets that I found encouraging.  Even while whining through Chapter 7, he cries out to God, “17 What is man that you make so much of him, that you give him so much attention…?”  His friend, Bildad, prophesied words of encouragement to him in Chapter 8, “7 Your beginnings will seem humble, so prosperous will your future be.”  And, almost as a continuation of that thought, Job answered in Chapter 9, “10 He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted.”  These three verses show me humility, hope, and knowledge of God’s power.  There just seems to be something missing that might stir them together into faith.

 

As he answered from his woe in Chapter 9, Job described a hopeless state of wonder whether God would ever help him or be concerned about his life.  It sounded familiar, from so many other lives I have heard reflected in the rooms of recovery.  So many hunger for the answer, “Why would God care for me?”  Still others seem to feel the gap between them and their Creator, like there was a missing piece.  Job says it this way:

 

33 If only there were someone to arbitrate between us,

   to lay his hand upon us both,

34 someone to remove God’s rod from me,

   so that his terror would frighten me no more.

 

I am grateful for any hunger which reveals a true need.  I am glad to have been brought to a knowledge that I am weak, but not for weakness’ sake – I am weakened so I can be brought to a full knowledge of the One who strengthens.  Job cried for an arbitrator, a mediator.  His was the cry of all mankind, a hunger pain designed by the Creator to be answered at a later time.  Job knew God could, he just couldn’t believe He would deliver us.  1 Timothy 2:5-6, “For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all men.”

 

Great Deliverer, thank You for finding me in my faulty condition, paying the price for my brokenness, and lovingly restoring me to relationship with You and all that is Yours!

 

 

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

