Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Without the barrier of shame, my path didn’t seem quite so desolate or lonely. ‘God, grant me the willingness to see my imperfections as a means of getting closer to others and to You.’”

The more highly I think of myself the more I am proved wrong!  The great thing about genuine humility is that it fits.  False humility, which is basically self-loathing as bait for affirmation fishing, puts the bearer beneath worm castings, which is completely inappropriate for a being created in God’s image for the purpose of reflecting that image.  Admitting to God, myself, and another human being the exact nature of my wrongs in Step Five (the basis of the VOR entry today) puts me on an equal footing with the other human beings, which was new for me when I did it.  I was in the habit of declaring I was nothing but sitting in God’s throne, neither fitting in the seat I claimed nor the words of my self-abasement.  Accepting God’s value of me, neither below His other children nor above the need for His grace, keeps me dependent on my conscious contact with Him, and still engaged in service to my fellow humans.

God, thank You for valuing me just enough, and making me valuable in the process!

I am reading Andrew Murray’s works on Humility, and I highly recommend them.  They are presented free for download at www.HeavenReigns.com.

From Proverbs Chapter 20:

10 Differing weights and differing measures — the LORD detests them both.

This has been and remains one of the primary concepts of Scripture that keeps me aware that measuring myself under grace and yet measuring others with contempt and judgmental scorn is inappropriate.  When I accept that I am a precious work under a restoration effort, I have to extend the same value to others.  Who am I to criticize God’s workmanship on any canvass?

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Job 6:

Job has now lost his ten children, his livestock, and his health, yet his desperate concern is the accusation of his friends that, somehow, he brought this suffering on himself by his sin.  Interestingly, in his anguish, he used a scale reference:

1 Then Job replied:

 2 “If only my anguish could be weighed

   and all my misery be placed on the scales!

3 It would surely outweigh the sand of the seas –

Even in our lowest state, we homo-sapiens tend toward vanity, as proved by the now outspoken friends of Job.  What insanity to believe that our lives could be built or destroyed by our own deeds!  Job at least understands that his power does not come from inside him, but from above.  “13 Do I have any power to help myself…?

Almighty God, until such time as You collect me to Your side, enable me to live my life in Your power for Your purpose, excluding my own interest in preference for those of others.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “How it Works” page 62:

Above everything, we alcoholics must be rid of this selfishness. We must, or it kills us! God makes that possible. And there often seems no way of entirely getting rid of self without His aid. Many of us had moral and philosophical convictions galore, but we could not live up to them even though we would have liked to. Neither could we reduce our self-centeredness much by wishing or trying on our own power.

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

