Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“For the sake of our compulsive eating, we have turned ourselves into objects of ridicule and we have destroyed our health.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 10

 

This excerpt from the “Step Two” chapter of The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous reminds me that, before one can be convinced he can be restored to sanity, he must first admit that sanity has eluded him.  Points like the one made by this quote help me remember that I was, by definition of my actions, insane.  I can train a hound not to chase rabbits, but even one so restrained should not be left unsupervised with the family bunny.  Every once in a while my actions, my thinking, or my attitude try to prove that my dog will still hunt!  Maintaining conscious contact with God, celebrating His supervision and living in His power, seems to be critical to keeping my sanity intact.  Occasionally, I feel the old canine ways start to itch.

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 17:

12 Better to meet a bear robbed of her cubs than a fool in his folly.

 

I didn’t know there was going to be a fur-and-teeth-bearing theme when I began writing this morning.  I have heard it said that “Some days you get the bear, and some days the bear gets you.”  I don’t know why, but I am getting tired, and I feel hot breath on my neck.  Ever have one of those days?

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Job 2:

The accuser apparently has more accusations to hurl at God, because he returned to His audience.  There, God again suggests that he consider His faithful servant, Job, who has borne all loss with his integrity intact.  Satan suggested that it was merely because nothing had been done to his health, and so God permitted that Job may be afflicted, but not killed.  As Job sat in ashes, scraping sores on his skin, he got no encouragement from his wife.  “9 His wife said to him, “Are you still holding on to your integrity? Curse God and die!”  His response and its corresponding commendation were the inspiration I needed for today:

 

10 He replied, ‘You are talking like a foolish [morally deficient] woman. Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?’

 

   In all this, Job did not sin in what he said.

 

There is another theme in the reading today, besides that of growling beasts, and it is that of silence versus sinning in speech.  Job did not sin in what he said, while his wife urged him to curse God.  Later in the chapter, Job’s friends would visit to comfort him, but they sat with him in silence.  “13 Then they sat on the ground with him for seven days and seven nights. No one said a word to him, because they saw how great his suffering was.”   A verse of Proverbs 17 I did not quote earlier was this, “28 Even a fool is thought wise if he keeps silent, and discerning if he holds his tongue.”   Perhaps it is best I let my devotional meditation end there.  Today may be a good day to be still and listen.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Into Action”:

As we go through the day we pause, when agitated or doubtful, and ask for the right thought or action. We constantly remind ourselves we are no longer running the show, humbly saying to ourselves many times each day ‘Thy will be done.’ We are then in much less danger of excitement, fear, anger, worry, self-pity, or foolish decisions.”

 

 

 

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

