Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Some of us did not believe in God. We despaired of finding a solution to our problems if that meant we had to ‘find God.’” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 13

 

I did not have this particular problem, but because I didn’t, I had a different fear that came with a bitter, shameful coating.  I believed in God, and thought about Him regularly, but with my eating, pouting, isolation and judgmental attitude in reserve all those years, I didn’t know or believe that He would help me with my eating problem.   Just because I know what my car looks like doesn’t guarantee I’ll find it in the Disney parking lot without a reference.  One might say I would be as lost as if I had never seen my car.

 

The VOR contributor adds, “What a shocking realization: because the gifts were surely divine, then equally as surely, the giver must also have been divine.”  In my case, the shocking realization was more of a “duh” forehead slap.  Now, honestly, what might have I expected when developing a constant conscious contact with a divine, gracious, loving Heavenly Father?  Rejection?  No!  I was operating under the misconception that God thought the way I did: critical, hateful, judgmental.  I am finding peace and joy as I surrender and learn to lean back into the arms that have always lovingly held me.  Thank You, Papa!

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 16:

7 When a man’s ways are pleasing to the LORD, he makes even his enemies live at peace with him.

 

Who are my enemies?  They are the diseased thoughts and behaviors of my natural self, my character defects, those who would prefer to cause me harm, and the destroyer who uses them all against me, seeking any opportunity to steal my joy, kill my spiritual light, and destroy my life, my witness, my family, and my reputation.  Today, I will begin reading Job, and get a look at this destroyer and his conniving practices.  The best I can do is to remain in alignment with the One big enough to conquer my enemies, and rely on Him for His deliverance in His timing.  He will put my enemies in their place and restore me to peace.  It is for me to stand still and trust Him to be God.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Job 1:

This story starts with God the Father giving audience to His children, the angels, and Satan the accuser intruding.  He admitted that he had been “7 roaming through the earth and going back and forth in it.”   We know from other Scripture what his intentions had been.  1 Peter 5:8 warns, “Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.”  Christ said, in John 10:10, “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy.”  Still, here is the accuser seeking audience with the Emperor of the Universe, and we can only imagine that his purpose is to accuse.  Papa must have known it, because he trumps any accusation Satan might have offered with, “8 Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.”  Confident in his own ability to destroy, Satan suggested a test.  Confident in the faith of His faithful, God agreed.  The conversation is worth quoting in its entirety:

 

9 “Does Job fear God for nothing?” Satan replied. 10 “Have you not put a hedge around him and his household and everything he has? You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land. 11 But stretch out your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely curse you to your face.” 

 12 The LORD said to Satan, “Very well, then, everything he has is in your hands, but on the man himself do not lay a finger.”

Even the accusing destroyer knew about the protection afforded those who please God, and whined about the unfair advantage to His face! Though his livestock and family were threatened, still God forbid that Job himself should be harmed.

 

The messengers immediately came like the four winds of the earth – flocks, herds, servants, and children – all of them destroyed or stolen, clearly evidence of the one who steals, kills, and destroys.  Job’s response demonstrated what a spiritually tuned, grateful heart he had toward God:

 

20 At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship 21 and said:

 

   “Naked I came from my mother’s womb,

   and naked I will depart.[or will return there]

The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away;

   may the name of the LORD be praised.”

 

 22 In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing.

May the grace of God remain the focus of my life so much that, no matter what the circumstances, I would yet praise Him!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 100:

If you persist, remarkable things will happen. When we look back, we realize that the things which came to us when we put ourselves in God’s hands were better than anything we could have planned. Follow the dictates of a Higher Power and you will presently live in a new and wonderful world, no matter what your present circumstances!

 

 

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

