Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“One aspect of this program that keeps us here is the promise of permanent recovery from this baffling malady.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 83

 

Doubt, fear and helplessness confine, but the Overeaters Anonymous 12-Step program and the connection to my Higher Power it promotes bring life, joy, and freedom.  Why wouldn’t I stay for that?

 

 

From Proverbs Chapter 14:

16 A wise man fears the LORD and shuns evil, but a fool is hotheaded and reckless.   17 A quick-tempered man does foolish things, and a crafty man is hated.

 

Here I find two more reasons to keep coming back.  In these two verses, I find my diseased life characterized in the words “crafty,” “quick-tempered,” “reckless,” “hotheaded,” and of course “does foolish things.”  The remedy implied in these same verses is the proper submission to God and the behavior modification that might be described as “abstinence,” “acting as if” (relieved of character defects).  The quick-temper is reconditioned, by God’s power released through my repetitive practice, to pause, pray, and pursue God’s will.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Esther 8:

Even after Haman, the enemy of the Jews, was executed, King Xerxes had some amends to make.  Queen Esther humbly petitioned him to cancel the edict Haman issued that declared a day of genocide for the Jews, but he found himself restricted by the events of his past.  “7 King Xerxes replied to Queen Esther and to Mordecai the Jew, ‘Because Haman attacked the Jews, I have given his estate to Esther, and they have hanged him on the gallows. 8 Now write another decree in the king’s name in behalf of the Jews as seems best to you, and seal it with the king’s signet ring—for no document written in the king’s name and sealed with his ring can be revoked.’”  Since cancelling an order of the king was forbidden, some thought had to go into making amends.  Mordecai came up with a creative solution and issued, under the same signet seal that called for the Jews’ destruction, an edict declaring a day of Jewish self-defense.  “11 The king’s edict granted the Jews in every city the right to assemble and protect themselves; to destroy, kill and annihilate any armed force of any nationality or province that might attack them and their women and children; and to plunder the property of their enemies.”  This twist guaranteed the Jew’s safety to the extent that, not only were they safe, but they were envied for the power granted them by the king.

 

I know that I, like the king, cannot take back what I have said or done to do harm in my past, but I can live my today in such a way to make it up to those I have hurt or might hurt if I were still living in my character defects.  Today, I choose to seek God’s power and guidance to live to help others and harm none.  When presented with a conflict, I will pause, seek His will and, just as Mordecai was ordered, do “as seems best” to me, acting as if God’s interests were my highest priority.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Our Southern Friend”:

There are disturbances, but I have learned that if I seek patience and open-mindedness, understanding will come. And with it, direction by the Spirit of God. The dawn comes and with it more understanding, the peace that passes understanding, and the joy of living that is not disturbed by the wildness of circumstances or people around me.”

 

 

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

Your feedback is welcome and appreciated.  Please leave a comment or feel free to email me.  

