Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

We finally see that there is a limit to how much we have been hurt. Our grievances are only so big and no bigger. The hurt had a beginning, and it can have an end as well.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 72

Self-centeredness clouded my emotional outlook so extremely that, in that mindset, I could not see the end of my troubles.  That emotional myopathy made each and every obstacle seem overwhelming.  Sobriety allowed me to develop a constructive view of my resentments and anxieties, but as I progress in this new clarity, the end of their reign over my life has come into view.  True freedom is having the ability to clearly view obstacles but to recognize that God’s power dwarfs them regardless.

From Proverbs Chapter 13:

12 Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.

The truth of this statement goes well with the observation of the VOR meditation because when hope is not immediately visible, the heartsickness of overwhelm serves to build itself into despair.   As we get to experience little victories in watching our HP fulfill some of our longings, we get to build a new conditioning, one that expects to overcome, rather than expecting to be overwhelmed.  This, to me, is one of the biggest contrasts between thriving in life and surviving sick.

God, thank You for doing positive things with everything I offer to You!  Help me to discover and surrender anything I might be holding back.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Esther 5, 6, and 7:

What a great story of vanity bringing a man low and humility exalting another!  Haman, who despised the entire race of Jews because Mordecai refused to bow to him, and who conspired genocide for them all, grew so disgusted with this one man that he had a towering gallows built outside his house, and planned to have Mordecai hung from it.  Meanwhile, Esther humbly submitted to putting her life in danger by approaching the throne room of her king, but was extended the scepter of mercy and invited in.  Not only that, but the king offered her anything she wanted, up to half his kingdom.  As she strung out her request over three days, the king, as if by providential intervention, suffered from insomnia so that he had someone read him the history books of his reign.  To make a long, very worth-reading story short, Haman was humiliated by having to lead Mordecai around on the king’s own mount, and herald his honor as the king’s own hero, and was later hung on the gallows he built for Mordecai.

Holy Father, there is none righteous but You!  Thank You for using my life to reflect Your power, Your love, and Your way of life to my fellow travelers here on Earth.  May I never seek to glorify myself, but only You, forevermore!

When I humble myself, God lifts me up.  When I exalt myself, He lets me fall.  When I seek to destroy others, I am destroyed.  When I seek to build others, I am built.  It is an amazing paradox!

From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, page 60:

Primarily concerned with getting our own way and the recognition we craved, we tried openly or secretly to place ourselves above other people, hoping to disprove our own feelings of inadequacy. In OA we have discovered that humility is simply an awareness of who we really are today and a willingness to become all that we can be. Genuine humility brings an end to the feelings of inadequacy, the self-absorption, self-absorption, and the status-seeking.”

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

Your feedback is welcome and appreciated.  Please leave a comment or feel free to email me.  

