Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.  I’m skipping my gym workout in preference of a walk with my visiting daughter.  Amends to the body are of little value without the corresponding amends to relationships.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“By maintaining conscious contact with a power greater than myself, I am finally able to feel at peace while abstaining from compulsive eating.”

God is not elusive.  He is there to be contacted whenever and for as long as I will be still and reach.  The idea of “maintaining” this conscious contact seems difficult, but the idea of praying without ceasing is one that has been taught since Paul wrote to Thessalonica.  1 Thessalonians 5:17 says simply, “Pray continually.”  Since constantly talking to God actually is impossible, this type of praying has to include more, and I think the term “conscious contact” gives a clearer description of the open, connected relationship implied by this statement.  Constantly reflecting my Higher Power is how I live in His power to be at peace.

From Proverbs Chapter 12:

3 A man cannot be established through wickedness, but the righteous cannot be uprooted.

Stability is what was missing before recovery.  When vanity was the fuel for my attempts at dieting, it was always shaken by the tiniest, most insignificant winds.  Why would anything else in my life be different?  I might not have been able to identify my life as one characterized by “wickedness,” but “self-centeredness” is just a softer term for the same toxic soil.  Being firmly planted and rightly aligned in humble submission to God, His will, and His power for my life, I find myself weathering the storms of life much more securely.  Furthermore, in this condition, I have much greater hopes for a fruitful life.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Esther 3 and 4:

Vanity and complacency worked together to build up a man named Haman.  King Xerxes honored this man above the nobles and decreed that others should bow to him.  Esther’s benefactor cousin, Mordecai, refused to participate in the practice, and Haman’s response was to call for a one-day genocide of all Jews.  Xerxes, without getting involved, handed his signet ring over to Haman and told him to do as he wished, and the event was put on the calendar, and an edict was published in the whole kingdom.  What followed was a mournful fast of many of the Jews, and a quiet correspondence between Mordecai and Esther.  Reluctant to intervene, because it may cost her life, Esther was persuaded by Mordecai’s words, “Who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?” (Esther 4:14)  Esther finally agreed, asking all her family to fast and pray for her.  The depth of her submission was evident in this statement from Esther 4:16, “I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.”

I know that whatever obstacle I will ever face is merely an opportunity to demonstrate my faithfulness to God.  I hope to live each moment of my life with the submitted determination of Esther, fully convinced that if my death is the will of God, then it is okay with me, but that I might very well have been conceived for the very purpose of living out that moment in history according to His will.  If I practice that sturdy, reflective purpose in the small trials, I will more likely be strengthened to do it in more turbulent tests.

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page :

Avoid then, the deliberate manufacture of misery, but if trouble comes, cheerfully capitalize it as an opportunity to demonstrate His omnipotence.”

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

Your feedback is welcome and appreciated.  Please leave a comment or feel free to email me.  

