Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I may feel lost and confused, but God knows the way.”

Turning my will and my life over to the care of God as I understand Him, means that I don’t have to understand everything, I just turn over everything.  The keys here are submission and trust.  I know that no matter what happens, God will still be God, and He will be big enough to meet the needs of the occasion.  It is a great relief giving the worries over to God.  Trying to be in charge of every moment was always a futile exercise anyway!

From Proverbs Chapter 10:

4 Lazy hands make a man poor, but diligent hands bring wealth.

 

I heard someone point out recently that surrender is for cares, concerns, and worries, but not responsibilities.  Surrender of responsibilities is another way of saying “laziness.”  Nothing comes of shirking my duties to nurture my body as a tool for God’s use, and to implement that tool in service to others and stewardship of those things God has assigned to my care.

God, keep me useful, and help me maintain those things You have given me.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Esther 1:

King Xerxes threw a great banquet, and Queen Vashti threw one for the women as well.  When everyone was in good spirits from the liberal varieties of wine, the king sent for his queen, to show her off to the assembly because of her great beauty.  She refused to come, and her defiance enraged the king, who sought out advice about how to respond to her behavior.  It was pointed out that her behavior might start a trend among women.  “18 This very day the Persian and Median women of the nobility who have heard about the queen’s conduct will respond to all the king’s nobles in the same way. There will be no end of disrespect and discord.”  Therefore, the king issued a decree that Vashti was to be stripped of her title, outcast, and replaced.

I take a couple things from this reading, although it seems only an introduction to a grander story.  Vashti was consumed with her own goings on, so that she failed to respond to the beckoning of her king.  I need to make sure I never become so engrossed in my own affairs that I miss my King’s calling.  Furthermore, in this story, the king’s response was not as much about Vashti’s crime, but about the example she set.  I need to remember that my behavior represents more than just me.  It represents is a reflection of a relationship between me and my King.  There are people watching me whether I like it or not.

King of the Universe, may You find me faithful, and may You speed the day of the coming of the Bridegroom.

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “The Professor and the Paradox”:

Says he, ‘We A.A.’s surrender to win; we give away to keep; we suffer to get well, and we die to live.’

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

Your feedback is welcome and appreciated.  Please leave a comment or feel free to email me.  

