Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Recovery is the result of living the Overeaters Anonymous Twelve-Step program.” — A Commitment to Abstinence, p. 1

I greatly appreciate that the VOR separated this statement of recovery from its usual counterpart statement on abstinence.  The two statements are usually found together to set the two terms apart, but many miss the separation and read them as one.  Abstinence is not the same as recovery, as anyone who has met a dry-drunk can attest.  I like the satisfaction of a stressful situation handled with a pause, a prayer and a sigh rather than a grinding of teeth and pounding of fists and blood vessels.  I like hearing that my family wants to be around me.  These little victories are proof to me that God is recovering me with His will like an antique chair.  He is finding value in what I thought was just an old, broken down, piece of garage sale fodder, and restoring it to a usable, appreciable condition.  Recovery is what happens when we make it a discipline to work and live the twelve steps, practicing these principles in all our affairs.

From Proverbs Chapter 9:

5 Come, eat my food and drink the wine I have mixed. 6 Leave your simple ways and you will live; walk in the way of understanding.”

 Wisdom has made preparations for those who would answer her invitation.  She has food and drink that agrees with the Creator’s will for them and welcomes any who might be exhausted by their rebellion to return to agreement with His plan.  Oh, that I might be found walking in the way of understanding!  What provision will Wisdom bestow upon me today?

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Nehemiah 13:

In this concluding chapter of his book, Nehemiah recounted his return to Artaxerxes and second coming to Jerusalem, when he found and rooted out certain evils which were taking place in his absence.  These inequities had to do with compromises to the people’s covenant to follow the Law of God.  A foreigner allowed to live here, a marriage to an outsider there, and soon, there were open markets on the Sabbath and hungry Levites abandoning their posts to return to their fields.  Nehemiah got angry and purged the town of this evil, with passionate violence he removed the contrary practices from the holy city, restored the appointments to their posts, and then prayed, “22b Remember me for this also, O my God, and show mercy to me according to your great love.”  As he described the restorative work he had done, he closed his book pleading, “31b Remember me with favor, O my God.”

Should I live long enough to be so perfected, it will be nice to experience a life that can say, “Lord and Master, remember what I did,” rather than, “please forget what I did, merciful God.”  What legacy do my deeds tell of me?  I declare that today I will live in such a way as to leave the scars on the forces of folly and not bruise the high hopes Wisdom has for me to tread her path along the will of God.  Father, please help me to live in Your grace according to Your pleasure and not Your mercy only.  For the sake of Your Name and for those who would follow after me, I ask.  Amen.

From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions, page 73:

A whole lifetime geared to self-centeredness cannot be set in reverse all at once.  Rebellion dogs our every step at first.”

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

Your feedback is welcome and appreciated.  Please leave a comment or feel free to email me.  

