Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

I’ve got a busy but productive day ahead!  Gym, a work meeting, an OA meeting, and chores line my road ahead like lions, tigers, and bears. …and today is my day off!  Still, I am happy to be useful, not for my own pleasure, but for God’s.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“That is a true miracle—to know that through these few words of supplication—let me do Your will—I move beyond myself to something greater.”

There is power in asking for God’s will to happen.  God wants what God wants.  When we want it too, and are willing to say so, we open a door to blessings we cannot imagine.  1 John 5:14-15 promises this, “14 This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. 15 And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.”   When I made an honest inventory of my life and the behavior that made it that way, I realized just how toxic my way was.  That made asking for God’s will much easier for me.  I do not concede to God’s will – I finally understand that God’s will is best for me and have humbly accepted that, as His creation, His chosen, His beloved, I can accept His will for me.

Mighty Creator and Precious Redeemer, grant that I should do Your will only, and never mine!

From Proverbs Chapter 7:

22 All at once he followed her like an ox going to the slaughter, like a deer stepping into a noose”

 

This Chapter is a picture of the fool falling prey to seduction.  The seducer makes plans, crafts the trap, talks it up, lures the prey, does all the homework.  Then along comes the weak or the self-willed, and “all at once” he gives in.  This “all at once” is the description of every time I have ever said, “Forget it, I’m eating!” (…or doing whatever else tempts me!)  The deceiver tries to get me thinking about small progresses like the next few pounds and then throws a temptation in my way that makes those small goals pale in comparison.  Wisdom encourages me to see the bigger picture, while yet living in the moment of grace.  With an eternal perspective of my momentary temptation, I can see that the skanky street-walker foods are not for me, and are trying to give me back my diseased life.  When I stop reacting “all at once” and giving attention to my senses and desires, but trust my Heavenly Father to guide me in keeping with my prayerful commitment to follow His will, I will find that avoiding the pitfalls and snares of the evil one is much easier to do.

I had to interrupt my devotions for my gym workout, during which the song, “Blink” by the group, Revive, drove home this idea of “all at once.”  Life is a fleeting momentary thing, happening one blink at a time, and suddenly, in a blink, it’s over.  How will we have spent our lives?  Will I have taken hold of each moment as an opportunity to follow God’s way toward His best?  Or will I have spent my life resting and serving myself?  It’s time to get up and do!  Life happens in a blink.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Nehemiah 9 and 10:

In Chapter 9, Israel observed a great fast, and assembled to worship and to hear the Word of God.  The Levites summarized the history of Israel, emphasizing God’s grace amid the nation’s repeated rebellion.  “19 “Because of your great compassion you did not abandon them in the desert. By day the pillar of cloud did not cease to guide them on their path, nor the pillar of fire by night to shine on the way they were to take. 20 You gave your good Spirit to instruct them.”  God’s grace still meets me where I am, wherever I turn. Through every mistaken step I take, His Spirit is a Pillar and Light to guide me back to Him.  He never fails, even though I sometimes do.  He is faithful to remind me that, though I make mistakes, He never has and never will, therefore I am not one.

6 You alone are the LORD. You made the heavens, even the highest heavens, and all their starry host, the earth and all that is on it, the seas and all that is in them. You give life to everything, and the multitudes of heaven worship you.

In Chapter 10, Israel actually wrote out a new commitment to follow God’s way, which was signed and sealed by the leaders of the people.  “29 …all these now join their brothers the nobles, and bind themselves with a curse and an oath to follow the Law of God given through Moses the servant of God and to obey carefully all the commands, regulations and decrees of the LORD our Lord.”  The contract closed with the words, “39 We will not neglect the house of our God.”  Now that my body is the house of God*, I have a choice to make.  Will it neglect it, or will I serve Him?

God, I offer myself to You, to build with me and to do with me as You will.

(*1 Corinthians 6:19-20, “19 Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.”)

From The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous:

We have found that when we give up self-will regarding food and completely turn our lives over to our Higher Power, we receive all kinds of guidance.” (p.21)

We will no longer simply do what we feel like doing or what we think we can get away with.  Instead, we will earnestly seek to learn God’s will for us, then we will act accordingly.” (p.24)

Much of the time, we no longer want to eat unwisely and we come to prefer foods that are good for us.  This miracle of sanity is an everyday reality for thousands of recovering compulsive overeaters.” (p.23)

The promise is that we will learn to like what God wants for us.  It happens with our food, and ultimately our life.  James 1:2-3 says, “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.”  Considering trials as joy once sounded as alien as the idea of me ever enjoying tomatoes, but it is happening.  Thank God!  It is happening!

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

Your feedback is welcome and appreciated.  Please leave a comment or feel free to email me.  

