Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

A customer complained about me early Saturday, and that event colored much of my day.  When I finally 10th-Stepped it, I realized that I would have done nothing differently had I the opportunity to do it over again, and that perhaps the complainer was, himself, spiritually sick.  Upon hearing the man rant about me, my supervisor said, “This cannot be the employee you are talking about.”  That is the part I choose to take away from the experience: that those who know me now trust me to behave honorably.  The same day, a young co-worker exclaimed concerning me, “I can’t wait until I grow to have your attitude and ability to handle all this stress without it bothering me.”

God, my Creator and my Restorer, thank You for progress!  …that victory over my difficulties may bear witness to those I would help.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I began to see that even though I was physically abstinent, I wasn’t emotionally abstinent. I still tried to control things, such as the outcome of events and the behavior and feelings of those around me.”

This statement reminds me that the nature of my disease is self-centeredness, and that compulsive overeating is a symptom of it.  Keeping that reality in mind, I have to be discerning about other patterns of behavior that might be symptomatic. “Control” is a mirage that seduces me with its notions of power and worth, but leaves me dry and dusty every time, isolated, and starving for fellowship.  I know that I cannot serve both people and my own desire for control at the same time, so when the illusions tempt me to veer from my path of self-sacrifice, I will keep my feet to the Way and diligently walk my patterned steps.

I know a man who once had, “I will abstain from all negative thoughts,” as part of his declaration of abstinence, yet he could never see why he was constantly in relapse.  He has since given up trying the OA program, convinced it failed him.  I know that my mind, will, and emotions are faulty, and will try to trip me up.  It is my job to repeatedly sacrifice self-will, nailing it to a cross as it were, and behave according to the Spirit, not that sacrificed will.  Romans 8 says, “12 Therefore, brothers, we have an obligation—but it is not to the sinful nature, to live according to it. 13 For if you live according to the sinful nature, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live…

From Proverbs Chapter 5:

1 My son, pay attention to my wisdom, listen well to my words of insight, 2 that you may maintain discretion and your lips may preserve knowledge.

To maintain and preserve is the benefit of paying attention and listening well.  As proof that the Author of Scripture knew where my heart would be after today’s VOR reflection, the verses that follow warn of the powerful forces of seduction that will entice the son of wisdom to depart from his path.  No matter how bad the economy is, I can always afford to pay attention!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Nehemiah 6:

Neighbors who witnessed the work of Nehemiah and his crews became jealous and tried to frustrate him in his mission. (Sound familiar?) They sent unsealed letters accusing him of setting up a new monarchy, knowing the rumors would reach the king.  His response:

   “But I prayed, ‘Now strengthen my hands.’” (verse 9)

The destroyer hates to see the children of God making progress!  We are not promised freedom from opposition, only that our God will be bigger than whatever we face.  In John 16:33, Jesus said, “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.

Father of Light, thank You for the courage in knowing that You are bigger than my obstacles.  Strengthen my hands for Your service, and help me to do Your will, never mine.

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 100:

Both you and the new man must walk day by day in the path of spiritual progress. If you persist, remarkable things will happen. When we look back, we realize that the things which came to us when we put ourselves in God’s hands were better than anything we could have planned. Follow the dictates of a Higher Power and you will presently live in a new and wonderful world, no matter what your present circumstances!

OD@aT:

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

Your feedback is welcome and appreciated.  Please leave a comment or feel free to email me.  

