Today:

I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  For details, check out my food journal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Once we truly make the leap to believe, no matter what, that a power greater than ourselves will restore us to sanity and will take care of every other issue in our lives as well, we cannot ever fail to recover, and the compulsion to binge disappears.

God’s way works best!  We only stay as sick as the measure of our reservations.  What have I yet to surrender to You, Lord?  Please take all of me and make me new, not for the benefit of novelty, but for the usefulness of service.

From Proverbs Chapter 2:

1 My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you,

This is the first of four “if” statements in the chapter that lead into a list of seven “then” promises, and several other explanations and qualifications of the rewards and our need for them.  I love it when Scripture addresses me by my new title, “My son”!  I know Solomon first penned these particular words of wisdom with his successor in mind, but God has orchestrated things in such a way that His love letter has been authored by different hands, tossed through many perilous assaults, copied, transcribed, translated, and piled between leather leafs, just for me.  God calls me “son,” so I will gladly accept His words and store up whatever I can of His will for me.  The Loving Father has many gifts with which He would like to bless me.  The gates of these blessings pivot on the hinge of “if.”

Papa, be my “Yes” and “Amen!”  Let no reservation remain.  Blast through my rocky clefts with Your stormy power, so that I may hear Your gentle whisper.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Nehemiah 2 and 3:

In the first part of Chapter 2, Nehemiah is provided with an opportunity to ask King Artaxerxes for what he wants when the king noticed his sad countenance.  It was probably no small thing for Nehemiah to show his emotional disturbance in front of the king of Persia in the first place, but the next few verses demonstrate some tips to courageous living.  When opportunity presented itself and the eye of the king was on him, Nehemiah said, “I was very much afraid, 3 but I said to the king, “May the king live forever! Why should my face not look sad when the city where my fathers are buried lies in ruins, and its gates have been destroyed by fire?”  I can almost hear the knees knocking, as the king asked him to tell him what he wanted.  “Then I prayed to the God of heaven, 5 and I answered the king…”  Nehemiah made his petition and was granted permission, political passage, and provision to rebuild the walls of Jerusalem.   Though very much afraid, he spoke up.  When faced with a problem, he paused, prayed and plunged, conquering fear with determined intention.

The second part of this chapter tells of Nehemiah’s quiet inventory of the defects of the wall of Jerusalem.  He took a nighttime ride, surveying the damage and making notations of the destruction of this war-torn structure.  Then he pitched his suggestion to the community and rallied everyone’s support.  Chapter 3 is a list of designated assignments, each tasked with doing his part, rebuilding his section of the wall, his “side of the street” as it were.  It was interesting to note some varying responses to the work to be done.  Most rallied to the cause, some took it on as a duty, a few (see verse 5) refused to “put their shoulders to the work” when the imperial overseers were watching, and others capitalized it as an opportunity to express their passion, “20 Baruch son of Zabbai zealously repaired another section…

I want my brokenness to be repaired in such a way that those who witness it appreciate the zealous passion that went into the restorative effort.  No dry-wall and stucco in this fortified city!  It’s hand-cut timber, rolled stone, and someday, jeweled gates.

Orchestrator of my circumstances and Provider of my every resource, thank You for enough pain in my past to make me passionate in my present.  Shine Your light in me and ignite me with Your zeal, illuminating every part of me darkened by a lifetime of destruction.  Replace my reservation with restoration and make me whole.

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 70:

If we have been thorough about our personal inventory, we have written down a lot. We have listed and analyzed our resentments. We have begun to comprehend their futility and their fatality. We have commenced to see their terrible destructiveness.

OD@aT

Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.”  3 John 2

 

Your feedback is welcome and appreciated.  Please leave a comment or feel free to email me.  

