I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.  Yesterday, I had a cancellation of a plan which led to an open space in my schedule.  With it, I experienced an hour of peace like I have not had in quite a while.  I reclined after my meditation, set an alarm, and just lay in the quiet.  With the sounds of my very content pets nearby and some deep-toned wind chimes outside as my sound track, I got to just be at peace, with nothing pressing me or demanding my attention.  It was a nice, restorative hour!

 

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Today I believe that living in reality carries with it the widest spectrum of feelings and challenges. When I keep the Twelve Steps close at hand, I have a chance to experience the promises and gifts of this program.

Addressing our problem of compulsive overeating does not make the world go away – it just enables us to experience it without medicating with food.  It reminds me of the first time I was prescribed glasses.  When I put them on, everything became clearer, more vibrant, more beautiful.  I had no idea what I had been missing until someone helped me see.  Thank You, God, for the clarity of recovery!

From Proverbs Chapter 24:

19 Do not fret because of evil men or be envious of the wicked, 20 for the evil man has no future hope, and the lamp of the wicked will be snuffed out.

Much of my discontent has to do with my perception of what others have in comparison with me.  When I allow myself to compare, I inevitably find someone whose abundance makes me feel deprived.  The truth is that God’s provision is always enough, so there is no cause to envy or fret.  Furthermore, the extent of the indulgences of the self-centered individual demonstrates that person’s hopelessness.  Such people are to be pitied rather than envied.  Their lamp is doomed to be extinguished.

Burn brightly, Holy Spirit!  Warm me from within, that I may be unaffected by affairs without.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Ezra 3 and 4:

The restored nation of Judah began to work “as one” to rebuild the altar and temple of God.  As they built, they celebrated their progress.  “3:13 No one could distinguish the sound of the shouts of joy from the sound of weeping, because the people made so much noise. And the sound was heard far away.

As the restoration of Jerusalem began to take shape, those neighboring outsiders who were not permitted to take part in the recovery efforts began an aggressive campaign against those working hard to rebuild.  “4:4 Then the peoples around them set out to discourage the people of Judah and make them afraid to go on building.”  A letter was sent to the Persian king, Artaxerxes, who listened to the whining neighbors, and put a stop to the building.  “4:24 Thus the work on the house of God in Jerusalem came to a standstill until the second year of the reign of Darius king of Persia.

There is never a shortage of naysayers when progress is being made!  This habit of selfish man to compare self to others results in aggression toward any who have or do more.  Most of us recovering from our self-indulgent lives will experience this when our old companions realize they are losing their “eating buddy.”  Often hurtful things will be said by those who feel they are being left behind, things that might “discourage” us or make us “afraid to go on building.”  These are the people who take the “perhaps” out of the statement, “the people who wronged us were perhaps spiritually sick.” (Alcoholics Anonymous, page 66)  They are the people for whom we should pray, not for whose lives we should be envious or jealous.  Their lamps are already beginning to flicker!

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 67:

Though we did not like their symptoms and the way these disturbed us, they, like ourselves, were sick too. We asked God to help us show them the same tolerance, pity, and patience that we would cheerfully grant a sick friend. When a person offended we said to ourselves, ‘This is a sick man. How can I be helpful to him? God save me from being angry. Thy will be done.’

3 John 2, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” – OD@aT

~TLJax

