I am abstinent by the grace of God, one more day at a time.

 

 

From Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

Since recovery in OA is a transformational journey, conflict with others is inevitable, and often unavoidable. The shame and low self-esteem which preys on us afterwards is the voice of our disease, calling us back.

This morning, the shame and low self-esteem have got me by the ankles.   They’ve had me like this since this current “afterwards” began Sunday morning.  Shame begets self-centered pity, which makes me over-sensitive to the next antagonizing stimulus, to which I fuss, fume, bark or break, which makes me even more ashamed.  I have got to get off this misery-go-round!  It is the disease calling me back.

Please, God, Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do Thy will!

From Proverbs Chapter 21:

4 Haughty eyes and a proud heart, the lamp of the wicked, are sin!

 

Yesterday, I noted, “What I reflect with my life’s light will reveal what is at the basic core of my being.”  Today I notice that wickedness has its lamp too.  Its bloody crimson darkness has been the burning glow of my yesterday, but I refuse to let it color my today!

For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.”  (2 Corinthians 4:6, with reference to Genesis 1:3)

See to it, then, that the light within you is not darkness. Therefore, if your whole body is full of light, and no part of it dark, it will be completely lighted, as when the light of a lamp shines on you.”  (Words of Christ, Luke 11:35-36)

Shine Your light on me, Precious Savior, and overcome the darkness that seeks to drag me back into its formless void.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in 2 Chronicles 35:

Josiah put together a Passover celebration like none since the days of the prophet Samuel (according to verse 18).  “2 He appointed the priests to their duties and encouraged them in the service of the LORD’s temple.”  He put everybody in their places and everybody to their jobs, and this orchestrated order made it possible for everyone to enjoy the feast at his own station.  “15 The musicians…were in the places prescribed… The gatekeepers at each gate did not need to leave their posts, because their fellow Levites made the preparations for them.

The Great Orchestrator has similarly given to each of us our station and our task.  Even as we live our life-long celebration of the Final Passover, our ministries continue and we are encouraged in our service by the Lamb Himself, finding our purpose and usefulness in Him.  A lamp doesn’t wander from its stand, nor does it need to, any more than Josiah’s gatekeepers.  Were it to do so, it would cease to be useful for its purpose, and it would cease to be trimmed and filled by its tender.  Fulfillment comes from actively taking part in our designated purpose.  Only when I submit to my proper preparation, placement, orientation, and work will I feel the warm glow of His usefulness for me in the lamp of my life.

From The “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 86:

Were we thinking of ourselves most of the time? Or were we thinking of what we could do for others, of what we could pack into the stream of life? But we must be careful not to drift into worry, remorse or morbid reflection, for that would diminish our usefulness to others. After making our review we ask God’s forgiveness and inquire what corrective measures should be taken.”

3 John 2, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” – OD@aT

~TLJax

